Potentially the longest thread in history... - Page 5758 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Member's Area > Off Topic Discussion
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-31-2020, 02:30 PM   #57571 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 30,195
Default Re: Potentially the longest thread in history...

Was the bios cleared after CPU swap? Bent pins?
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2020, 09:42 PM   #57572 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Great Lakes State
Posts: 3,582
Default Re: Potentially the longest thread in history...

I've had the most problems using ASrock boards with Ryzen chips than anything I have ever experienced. I suggest that you do not use ASRock boards with AMD Zen chips. Do the RMA and get a different branded board
(IMHO)
__________________

__________________
Windows 10 .... It wants to be found and installed so it can be the one Operating System to rule us all.
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2020, 03:42 AM   #57573 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 8,081
Default Re: Potentially the longest thread in history...

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Was the bios cleared after CPU swap? Bent pins?
Can't get to BIOS since no POST, and they don't have a cap to short the CMOSCLR. Bent pins is possible but unlikely because we've tried two CPUs.

Currently looking at it as a RAM compatibility issue.
__________________
Nothing is more permanent than a temporary fix that works.

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell[/SIZE]
Yami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2020, 05:51 AM   #57574 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 30,195
Default Re: Potentially the longest thread in history...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe C View Post
I've had the most problems using ASrock boards with Ryzen chips than anything I have ever experienced. I suggest that you do not use ASRock boards with AMD Zen chips. Do the RMA and get a different branded board
(IMHO)
I've built 3 now that fired right up
Considering it's a 450 the bios could be old enough to not support the 3600x.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yami View Post
Can't get to BIOS since no POST, and they don't have a cap to short the CMOSCLR. Bent pins is possible but unlikely because we've tried two CPUs.

Currently looking at it as a RAM compatibility issue.
You can clear it the way I said in text, or by using a screw driver shorting the pins on number 18 here in the manual.
https://docs.google.com/viewer?url=h...2520Legend.pdf

The way I said in text is best, and try posting with the 2200g in after a solid clear. ASRock boards should post initially to 2133 for compatibility with IF ratio locked.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2020, 06:40 AM   #57575 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 8,081
Default Re: Potentially the longest thread in history...

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
I've built 3 now that fired right up
Considering it's a 450 the bios could be old enough to not support the 3600x.
That's what I figured, hence why I sent them the 2200G to test.

I'll have them try shorting the CMOSCLR with a screwdriver and let you guys know. I've also sent them a DDR4-2666 8GB stick as a tester also (they'll be sending each they don't need back to me and I'll upgrade Abi's rig from their i7-2600)
__________________
Nothing is more permanent than a temporary fix that works.

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell[/SIZE]
Yami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2020, 10:45 AM   #57576 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: uk
Posts: 1
Default Re: Potentially the longest thread in history...

Just information is what I got
__________________
digichaser.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2020, 11:08 PM   #57577 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Unhappy Re: Potentially the longest thread in history...

Can someone tell me how to post on this forum. I cannot find a “Post” icon anywhere!?!?!!! Thanks!
__________________
Gabeezlebub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2020, 04:20 AM   #57578 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 8,081
Default Re: Potentially the longest thread in history...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabeezlebub View Post
Can someone tell me how to post on this forum. I cannot find a “Post” icon anywhere!?!?!!! Thanks!
I believe there's a minimum post count before you can make new threads, i.e. you need to contribute before you can make new threads.
__________________
Nothing is more permanent than a temporary fix that works.

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell[/SIZE]
Yami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2020, 05:49 AM   #57579 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 30,195
Default Re: Potentially the longest thread in history...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yami View Post
I believe there's a minimum post count before you can make new threads, i.e. you need to contribute before you can make new threads.
Hey did that RAM work?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2020, 06:08 AM   #57580 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,767
Default Re: Potentially the longest thread in history...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabeezlebub View Post
Can someone tell me how to post on this forum. I cannot find a “Post” icon anywhere!?!?!!! Thanks!
Look for this black button at the top of any forum.
Attached Images
File Type: png New Thread.PNG (96.9 KB, 1 views)
__________________

__________________
CM Mastercase H500 / Corsair RM650 Modular / AMD Ryzen 5 3600X / SilverStone PF240 AiO Cooler
AsRock X570 Extreme4 WiFi AX / 4x8GB XPG Specrix RGB 3200MHz / PowerColor Red Devil Radeon RX 5700 XT 8GB
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB NVMe / Crucial P1 1TB NVMe / WD Blus 5000GB SSD / WD Blue 2TB
Win10 Pro x64 / Razer Mamaba Wireless / Tecware 87 Key Mechanical
3xSceptre E255B-1658A 24.5" 165Hz + NEC MultiSync LCD1970GX 19" (in 3+1 configuration)

R.I.P. Father Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yak thread? nOcLuE98 Forum Admin, Announcements & Feedback 17 02-18-2008 01:45 AM
Post 3Dmark06 scores in the official thread Trotter Overclocking and Modding 0 11-09-2007 05:03 PM



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.