loosing my mind - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2020, 03:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
XWrench3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: W. MICHIGAN
Posts: 786
Default loosing my mind

so, trying to make a LONG story short, i am trying to install windows 10 on a new to me computer. i am using a freshly formatted known good 240gb ssd. but when i try to install windows, it just says it can not be installed, to look in the log files. well, i can not find any log files. and i looked. i (long) formatted it, and initialized it on the computer i am writing this, so its a known good unit. i have tried formatting the ssd in windows install as well, with no luck. after watching several you tube videos, i thought maybe the drive needed to be initialized prior to the install, so i did that and tried again. with the same result. the last time i tried, (10 minutes ago) it said that the program could not find a primary partition, and that was after formatting it. my son is off at college, and he usually finds a way to make it work, but he really cant help me know. HELP! PLEASE!!
__________________

__________________
Cooler Master HAF XB EVO, MSI B150m PRO-VHL, Intel i-5 6500, 16gb G.Skill DDR4, WD Blue 1TB, HGST Ultrastar 3 TB, HP Lightscribe DVDRW , LG WH14NS40 Blu-Ray burner, Thermaltake 500w PSU.NVIDIA GTX1060 3GB
XWrench3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2020, 08:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Great Lakes State
Posts: 3,558
Default Re: loosing my mind

A few questions....
this is a sata ssd? (not a nvme or pcie type of ssd)
Have you gone into the bios to see if the ssd drive is recognized in there yet? It must be recognized in the bios before you can do anything else.
What type of media are you installing Windows ? from? DVD or USB drive?
If it is a sata drive try another sata data cable and check the power molex to be sure it is inserted fully
__________________

__________________
Windows 10 .... It wants to be found and installed so it can be the one Operating System to rule us all.
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2020, 09:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,727
Default Re: loosing my mind

Have you tried using a live CD of GParted? I use it exclusively for all the HDD/SSD I use. Plus it is free.
__________________
CM Mastercase H500 / Corsair RM650 Modular / AMD Ryzen 5 3600X / SilverStone PF240 AiO Cooler
AsRock X570 Extreme4 WiFi AX / 4x8GB XPG Specrix RGB 3200MHz / PowerColor Red Devil Radeon RX 5700 XT 8GB
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB NVMe / Crucial P1 1TB NVMe / WD Black 750GB / WD Blue 2TB
Win10 Pro x64 / Razer Mamaba Wireless / Tecware 87 Key Mechanical
3xSceptre E255B-1658A 24.5" 165Hz + NEC MultiSync LCD1970GX 19" (in 3+1 configuration)

R.I.P. Father Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2020, 07:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
XWrench3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: W. MICHIGAN
Posts: 786
Default Re: loosing my mind

[/QUOTE][/QUOTE][/QUOTE]
Quote:
this is a sata ssd?
yes.
Quote:
Have you gone into the bios to see if the ssd drive is recognized in there yet?
yes, it shows up.
Quote:
What type of media are you installing Windows ? from? DVD or USB drive?
i have tried both, a genuine microsoft dvd, and a downloaded usb stick that my son has used several time without issues.
Quote:
If it is a sata drive try another sata data cable and check the power molex to be sure it is inserted fully
i have tried 2 different sata cables, and i have tried seating the power cable several times (more like a dozen times) trying to get this to work.

Quote:
Have you tried using a live CD of GParted? I use it exclusively for all the HDD/SSD I use.
what is a "live CD"? never heard of that before. and no, never heard of GParted before either. what does that do?
__________________
Cooler Master HAF XB EVO, MSI B150m PRO-VHL, Intel i-5 6500, 16gb G.Skill DDR4, WD Blue 1TB, HGST Ultrastar 3 TB, HP Lightscribe DVDRW , LG WH14NS40 Blu-Ray burner, Thermaltake 500w PSU.NVIDIA GTX1060 3GB
XWrench3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2020, 07:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,727
Default Re: loosing my mind

Quote:
Originally Posted by XWrench3 View Post
what is a "live CD"? never heard of that before. and no, never heard of GParted before either. what does that do?
A live CD is a bootable CD version of an operating system, or in this case a partial operating system. GParted is a bootable partition manager. It is very powerful, fast, and free.

Here is the site for it: https://gparted.org/

Here is the direct download link. This will open a page that has other downloads offered but just wait a few seconds and the download will start. https://downloads.sourceforge.net/gp...0.0-5-i686.iso

Burn the image to a CD using Nero, ImgBurn, or whatever you prefer.

Here is a video tutorial on using GParted. The guy walks through making a bootable thumb drive and then how to use GParted.
__________________
CM Mastercase H500 / Corsair RM650 Modular / AMD Ryzen 5 3600X / SilverStone PF240 AiO Cooler
AsRock X570 Extreme4 WiFi AX / 4x8GB XPG Specrix RGB 3200MHz / PowerColor Red Devil Radeon RX 5700 XT 8GB
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB NVMe / Crucial P1 1TB NVMe / WD Black 750GB / WD Blue 2TB
Win10 Pro x64 / Razer Mamaba Wireless / Tecware 87 Key Mechanical
3xSceptre E255B-1658A 24.5" 165Hz + NEC MultiSync LCD1970GX 19" (in 3+1 configuration)

R.I.P. Father Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 10:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
XWrench3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: W. MICHIGAN
Posts: 786
Default Re: loosing my mind

well, i FINALLY got windows to ALMOST install. it had to restart after installing updates, and i forgot the GParted disk was still in the drive bay. so it started to run that again, which screwed up the process. so the next time,i left the usb stick in while it restarted (it did not say to remove it), which brought me right back to the beginning process. so on that try, when it needed to restart, i pulled the (windows install) usb from the port, and it brought me to a black screen telling me to insert a boot device and press any key. what kind of magician do you have to be to get windows into a computer????? i am so stressed!
__________________
Cooler Master HAF XB EVO, MSI B150m PRO-VHL, Intel i-5 6500, 16gb G.Skill DDR4, WD Blue 1TB, HGST Ultrastar 3 TB, HP Lightscribe DVDRW , LG WH14NS40 Blu-Ray burner, Thermaltake 500w PSU.NVIDIA GTX1060 3GB
XWrench3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 10:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Great Lakes State
Posts: 3,558
Default Re: loosing my mind

your bios is probably set to boot the drive with your Windows install first and that is why it wants to restart the install. Go into your bios and set the hard drive as the first device and then the optical drive (cd/dvd player) then the usb port last. On a lot of computers you can also select one of the F keys to select the boot device. Usually F9 or F10...ect. depending on the pc. Some newer HP's have you tap the ESC key first.
__________________

__________________
Windows 10 .... It wants to be found and installed so it can be the one Operating System to rule us all.
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Map your mind with VYM (View Your Mind) Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 03-05-2010 08:08 AM
Mind Reader Game-Display what you think in your mind. Natashafun General Gaming 9 03-31-2005 07:56 PM
Loosing Wireless Connection Blackmoore Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 12-08-2004 09:05 AM
HDD loosing boot record??? _stef_ Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 8 10-17-2004 12:28 PM
Clock is slow, keeps loosing time. webwolf Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 14 08-23-2004 03:45 PM



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.