Wierd problems after XP64 reinstall...

Status
Not open for further replies.

lostuser

Beta member
I've been using 64-bit XP for about two months. It's been great. The only problem I ran into was with my wireless receiver, but that was a problem easily fixed. After getting a feel for things, I decided to do a complete reinstall yesterday. Now things have turned ugly...

After my first reinstall I could not register Windows or run Windows update. Okay, I got a bad install. It's happened before on regular XP. After the second reinstall (which I am posting from now), I could run Windows update, but I still cannot register. Okay, that's not too bad, I can just call up, but that's the least of my worries.

Shortcuts
I used to place web shortcuts on my desktop, give them a unique icon, then set that to read-only so when I visit the site it doesn't try to change the icon. Now, I cannot even set an icon. I can, technically, it just doesn't display, and my changes disappear after I leave the properties screen.
I cannot a] find target or b] change icon on any shortcuts. Not in administrator mode, not in limited mode.

Windows Defender
I have to manually download updates. I can no longer click "check for updates". It just won't work. It responds by saying there are no new updates, then prompts me to check for updates again. I had to manually download and install the updates. Yes, I am using the 64-bit version.

Start Menu
This is a really wierd one. Programs I've installed since this afternoon have not given me start menu folders.

Video
I installed a game called Titan Quest. No start menu folder. It gave me an error when I tried to run it saying it failed to initalize the graphics engine. I did some research and that's a problem encountered by users of old integrated cards. I'm running a 3870 HD which, three days ago on the old install, ran Titan Quest maxed at 1680x1050!