HVAC issues...

C0RR0SIVE

Golden Master
I doubt we have anyone here familiar with HVAC, even fewer familiar when it comes to a car HVAC... Anyways, I have a truck here, check the sticker for the weight of R134A and it says "Left hand side, X.XX pounds, Right hand side, X.XX pounds" Both are ~2.0 pounds of 134, I have put around 3 in, yet the compressor never cycles on/off, it's always on no matter what weight, pressures check out just slightly high (about 10PSI on the low side, roughly 25PSI on the high side), and it finally starts putting out COLD air...

Do I have some sort of restriction somewhere? I am unsure of the exact weight the system needs because of that stupid right/left hand crap, as there is no "left" or "right" anything... :-\

I was a hvac service tech for 20yrs, but not for automotive.
A quick google should get you close enough to run the a/c.
High side <200psi. Low side <50 lb.
"A good rule of thumb with R134a is to run fan on High with all windows open and engine at 1500 rpm. High side pressure in PSI should be about 2.2 to 2.5 times outside air temperature in degrees F"
What is the correct pressure on the high side and the low side of an efficiently working system

your gauges read the pressure/temp relation
the compressor should stay on until the temp inside the car is reached

Last edited:
technically...if you got air into the system, you should replace the filter drier too. Not too likely that the system got totally empty to that stage. if it did then you have more problems than just a low charge. I can only guess, but right/left side might be referring to the hi/low sides of your gauges. you need to charge by pressure /temperature and not by weight

Last edited: