Designing a Wireless LAN - PLEASE HELP!

Status
Not open for further replies.

adakat02

Beta member
Hello there,

I am new to using Comptuer Forums and am after some help on creating a LAN for a feasibility report due in a couple of days.

The scenario is:
To design an evidence collection system for use onboard ships. The system is to consist of a central computer for storage and processing of large amounts of data/evidence (server), 2 ruggedised laptops each with GPS system to be taken away from the ship with digital cameras (for evidence gathering) The laptops will need to be able to transfer information to and from the central computer (on the ship) via wireless technology within line of Sight range. The following IP address is to be used to subnet: 220.199.22.0

The minimum requirements for the LAN are as follows:

a. Hardware to be compatibile with eachother
b. computers to be networked via wireless technology
c. data will require a public key encryption of at least 128bit
d. a redundancy plan
f. colour printer to provide photo quality prints and a high resolution scanner

I have been looking into sending data via GPS, is this a good way to go? If so, what exactly will I need? I dont want to forget anything? :) I have so far...

On the ship:
* Server, Monitor, keyboard, mouse
* Windows 2003 Server software
* Networked Printer
* Networked scanner
* GPS receiver
* GPS antenna
* GPS software

For evidence gathering:
* Ruggidesed Laptop
* High resolution camera
* GPS mouse
* Windows XP or VISTA Software
* GPS software

I am not too familar with TCP/IP over GPS so I am not sure what I am missing (if anything) Any help would be appreciated

Adam

While this is a very interesting situation you bring up i am not sure that many people here will know how to setup or even what is needed for setup of a GPS sending and recieving unit. ;)