Why aren't Developers interested in pre-formed startups? Need advice.

jleeinnyc

Beta member
Hey guys! I'm hoping ya'll might be able to shed some light on an issue I've been having:

I founded a site (mypotluckapp.com) last September, and as a total newbie to the tech startup world (I have a successful background in biz dev & marketing in the entertainment industry,) I first started by meeting with entrepreneurs, investors, developers, etc just asking for advice as to the best approach to getting my idea off the ground.

The number one piece of advice I received was basically that I should "test the market." Most people that I spoke with said that I shouldn't waste hundreds of hours building a product, or spend tons of money hiring somebody to build it, before getting out there to see if there was an actual market for it, if people wanted to use it/thought it was cool/signed up for it, etc etc.

I was told to figure out a business plan, revenue streams, a potential user-base, and that building the site first would be a complete waste of time/money because the idea would probably morph into something completely different through the above-mentioned research.

I've also read countless blog posts/advice columns by big-name investors throughout the tech world that complain that developers spend 1,000 hours building something and have no clue how to market it or how to make money with it, and investors are dumping tens of millions of dollars into dead-ends just simply hoping that Google or Facebook will come along and buy it out.