Very Challenging Network Conundrum...

granthworth

Beta member
Hello all,

We seriously need help. I think I have come to the right place.

I work as a project engineer for a medium sized logistics firm working inside two of our customer's facilities. The customer is a big player in a very competitive business segment and therefore has very strict restrictions on network usage inside their facility. Currently, we employ around 44 users on-site who require internet connectivity. Of these 44, the maximum number of simultaneous users in one location is 14. The customer forbids us to access their network connections, with no amount of negotiations changing that situation.

So, for the past 10 months, we have survived off of two AT&T Unite Pro 4G hotspot devices. And it has been hell.

Each of these customer locations has approximately 1500 total employees on-site at any given time and these facilities are within a quarter mile of each other.

The first issue is simply with the number of our employees requiring access. Whatever the intended amount of simultaneous users these devices were designed for, I can assure you it is not 14.....

Also, imagine the speed of these devices during lunch and break periods when all 3,000+ employees are watching cat videos on Facebook or streaming the newest Kanye West "hit"....

Please help. What can we do differently?

Wow, this is one tough situation. I can only image the money it must cost for the data plans of those AT&T hotspots! This is going to be tricky...

First thing I would look into is getting your own internet line run to the building. If they don't want you using their network, the next best thing would be to get your own. If they still refuse to even have you install your own line, tell the customer's that its impossible to get any work done without it. If they STILL refuse, then wow, your in between a rock and hard place.