Java Newbie: Cross-platform compatibility?

Baker

Solid State Member
Hi guys,

So I've been studying on Java for a few days now. I'm a newbie. The only other work I've ever done with programming is Lua, which is probably considered a low to mid level program language, but the knowledge has helped me alot despite the languages being completely different.
I already understand the concept of conditional statements, subroutines (called functions in Lua) loops, variables, etc. So basically, I understand some concepts, which is helpful, but not any actual Java... yet.

There is just one thing that I want to get a little bit of extra understanding of: Java compatibility with other computers.

Okay, cutting to the chase.

I have several questions:

1.) How do java apps, like online Java video games for example, work on anybodies computer? Is there some sort of compiler built in, or is it an interpretor? (Some specific examples are RuneScape, Minecraft, etc)

2.) The guide I am reading says that this is because every type of computer has it's own machine language, and Java has to be compiled differently for each. Where do computer machine languages vary? Is it dependant upon it's operating system, brand, or each individual computer?

Thank you for your time in reading this thread. I hope somebody can help me. If you can only answer one of my questions, this is perfectly fine.

First off, I'd like to point out that if by guide you mean a website, please do yourself a favor and stop right now. :D Online tutorials are awesome for a lot of things, and are one of the reasons why the internet is such a beautiful resource. However, when it comes to actually building a foundation to learn on (which is what you say you're doing), such as a programming language, tuts simply won't give you enough to work with. You would be far better off investing in a textbook of some kind. Head First is excellent, or you could also use the For Dummies series. Now for your question: