Data Transfer rate correlation

yurayurayur

Solid State Member
Hi,
I hope this belongs to this forum but I couldn't find anywhere more suitable to post this.
I have a question that been bugging me for the logest time and everyday I learn more and more because I work in the IT industry but never manage to answer this question.
Can someone explain me the connection from the hard drive to the Southbridge/CPU. what I mean is this:
lets say SAS drive runs at 15K RPM, the data transfer rate is SAS III which is 6Gbp/s and if we look at a good DELL RAID controller, such as the H700, which is also 6Gbp/s, the bus interface is PCI-e 2.0 x8 which means 4Gbp/s of transfer from the controller to the chipset and to the RAM/CPU.
can someone elabore for me how the data transfers and connects between all of these speeds? because they are all different.
if someone got an illustration, it would be highly appreciated.

Thank you for your time.

Hi,
I hope this belongs to this forum but I couldn't find anywhere more suitable to post this.
I have a question that been bugging me for the logest time and everyday I learn more and more because I work in the IT industry but never manage to answer this question.
Can someone explain me the connection from the hard drive to the Southbridge/CPU. what I mean is this:
lets say SAS drive runs at 15K RPM, the data transfer rate is SAS III which is 6Gbp/s and if we look at a good DELL RAID controller, such as the H700, which is also 6Gbp/s, the bus interface is PCI-e 2.0 x8 which means 4Gbp/s of transfer from the controller to the chipset and to the RAM/CPU.
can someone elabore for me how the data transfers and connects between all of these speeds? because they are all different.
if someone got an illustration, it would be highly appreciated.

Thank you for your time.
I just want to point out that PCI-E 2.0 x8 is 4GB/s (Gigabytes per second) rather than 4Gb/s (Gigabits per second).