Becoming Hirable?

N7Valiant

Beta member
Alrighty, so I'm in a bit of a mid-life crisis at 29.

Typical millennial background:
Unemployed(technically I work as an IT Tutor for my local college for 4 hours a week, but I may as well be unemployed), living with my mom, last full-time job was 2 years ago in retail, only have a 2-year AAS in Welding which I never used because I didn't figure out I hated it until I was pretty much done with the degree.

I also jumped around to Accounting because I figure I was better with my head than with my hands. I figured right, but it was boring as hell(as in, I'll probably hang myself after a year), then I considered programming which my brother didn't think I had the right smarts for. Turns out, it was the right thing for me.

Why do I feel this way?

Well, first introductory programming course(ITS128), we were given free reign to write whatever program we wanted for the final project, provided it fulfilled some basic criteria(input validation, uses arrays, loops, etc.). I took it upon myself to do something ambitious(for that level): a Sudoku generator.

There were plenty of examples online that one could ostensibly just copy and paste, but pretty much all of them used contents that I wasn't familiar with(such as LINQ, which I still don't know how to use), and I didn't want to plagiarize, plus I wanted to be able to explain exactly how it works if the instructor asked. But I was able to get a conceptual explanation of how the code worked(backtracking) and was able to construct a working Sudoku generator by using a 3-Dimensional Array to keep track of the numbers that had already been randomly generated.