perfect connection low or no speed - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-03-2006, 02:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 59
Send a message via AIM to Dunadan1821 Send a message via Yahoo to Dunadan1821
Default perfect connection low or no speed

Ok guys Im at a loss and would love any help. So heres the problem. The internet here is from direcway satellite coming in to the satellite modem. It leave via ethernet and goes to a linksys wireless g router. I then have it hardwired eithernet to a desktop and am using the wireless signal for my laptop. The connection says it is perfect on both the wired and the wireless connections all the time. The problem is that even tho it is saying I have an excellent connection, somtimes it wont load pages or connect to aim or to limewire. Sometimes with limewire it will connect all the way and then lose the download speed and connectioin after awhile even the the computer says it still has a great internet connection. I tried using a hard ethernet wire on my laptop to see if it made and difference and no it didnt. I still had the same problem. I have no idea on what could be causing this and would really use some input. Thanks to all in advance even if you just read my question. Peace Dan
__________________

__________________
Dunadan1821 is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 11:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

try deleting your temporary internet files.
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 03:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 59
Send a message via AIM to Dunadan1821 Send a message via Yahoo to Dunadan1821
Default

Heres somthing else interesting. So far all day I could not get online even though it said of course it had a great connection. I took the internet cable out of the router and put it in my laptop, bypassing the router. Now it is working so it must be somthing with the router. But that doesnt make much sense because the router is brand new, like 4 days or so...
__________________
Dunadan1821 is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 03:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

update the firmware of the router.


goto the manufacturer's website and lookup support or downloads
office politics is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 04:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 59
Send a message via AIM to Dunadan1821 Send a message via Yahoo to Dunadan1821
Default

Ok I will give that a try.
__________________
Dunadan1821 is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 12:59 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 72
Default

Did you log into your router and change any options prior to your problems/

NV
__________________
Every Day I Try To Learn
NewVincent is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 01:02 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,282
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Can you download alright, then it quits or goes slow? Remember Direcway has a 168 MB per day download limit cap, then they reduce you to dial-up speed.
__________________
beedubaya is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 03:15 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 59
Send a message via AIM to Dunadan1821 Send a message via Yahoo to Dunadan1821
Default

The only thing I changed is set the channel to 11 from 6 to try and make a difference. Umm That is interesting about the limit. At first when I had gotten this network set up it would stay connected longer and I could download quite a bit but like all day today I have not been able to load pages and limwire was going like 4-5 k total. If there is some limit cap thats ****ed up. I am getting so frusterated with this problem. What the computer is telling me about the connection and what it is doing is so very different for no apparent reason
__________________

__________________
Dunadan1821 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.