Windows XP/Vista/7 - Installtion

Status
Not open for further replies.

Endriuska

Beta member
I have couple questions regarding Windows XP/Vista/7 Installations, expert opinion would be appreciated.

I work in IT field but I'm completely familiar with windows installations(legal way to do it). I'm moving forward and

most likely I will have to do a lot of instalations in the future so just want to get things right first time.

Since Microsoft stopped releasing updates for Windows XP, i can install just anything on the pc... I know there is a

way to save the registrations key(need to take copies of system\wpa.) then wipe everything and reinstall the same

version of windows and copy over those wpa files. Is there any other way? because sometimes i can't find both wpa

files..

Also is there a difference what windows cd I will use? let's say the client lost the CD and I have WinXp Pro and he

had the same in his machine, after reinstall will the same cd-key will work?(his key on the box) ? How to make sure

that I will be able to register windows and make them legal?

For Windows Vista, I have heard that there is only one CD with all Vista versions in it? It does not matter what it says

on the disk, when you install the windows and you enter CD key it will automatically recognize the apporpiate

version of vista to install? Is that true?

Also, what about the proper reinstall for Vista, is it straightforward, for example, you take clients cd, wipe everything

and load and enter the CD key from the box? What if client does not have the CD and I have one from the other PC?

will that work?

I'm not familiar with Windows 7 installations at all, but I assume it's the same process as for windows vista, but what

about the cd-key thing? just reinstall and enter it again?

Does anyone know what makes microsoft think that my cdkey is valid and for other pc its invalid?