Windows XP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-31-2004, 09:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 435
Default Windows XP

When you people build your own computers do you actually buy windows xp or donwload/borrow from a friend or something?

its just that im planning on building soon and it really jacks the price up and i only want to use xp. Ive got an WinMe disc but thats crap.
__________________

chrisgill369 is offline  
Old 12-31-2004, 09:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I have a few copies laying around (Dutch version), but I suggest you buy it, because you have to activate the US version.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-31-2004, 12:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 303
Send a message via AIM to s0me0ne Send a message via Yahoo to s0me0ne
Default

Linux
__________________
Anal nerd who can\'t spell.
s0me0ne is offline  
Old 12-31-2004, 01:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

there are ways around the activation i just cant say it cuz its illegal and yea, but cant you chose the language of the OS anyway? so even if it was dutch it wouldnt matter too much i dont think would it?
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 12-31-2004, 01:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

You cannot choose the language. Only keyboard settings
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-31-2004, 01:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 469
Default

I got an action pack from M$ for this..
__________________
Death has a thousand doors, let's see which one our victim chose.

"There's one thing that you learn on this job, is that human beings are capable of anything"

If you chase two rabbits, you lose them both

You say tomato... I say cause of death
For sale/trade
http://www.techist.com/pc/f40/fully-...r-fs-t-139695/
microsoftne is offline  
Old 12-31-2004, 01:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

i buy mine, OEM, cheaper than retail.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 12-31-2004, 02:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
Jae
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 245
Default

download linux knoppix and put that on a CD. i think its 716kb, http://www.linuxiso.org/distro.php?distro=44
try there
__________________
Lenovo Thinkpad X220
i7 2620M
4GB DDR3 1333MHz
320GB HDD 5400rpm :(
Jae is offline  
Old 12-31-2004, 02:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 435
Default

i really dont wanna touch linux ever again in my live lol. I installed on my laptop before and when i loaded it up i just got this really high pitched noise that wouldnt stop. So i tried removing it and then my comp wouldnt boot up.

Besides its crap for games which is what i want it for :P

i think i will just get hold of windows xp corporate edition
chrisgill369 is offline  
Old 12-31-2004, 02:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Linux is built for server use and is not meant for the average consumer applications.

I have copied disks of both home and pro.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.