Taskbar Gone - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-09-2005, 01:00 PM   #11 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

did you find any spyware/adware/viruses on the machine ?
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 01:09 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 458
Default

Adaware said it found 60 something but only displayed two files I could check and delete and Microsoft's AntiSpyware didn't find anything. That runs daily, at 2 AM so I'm usually pretty good about keeping spyware out.

I tried putting in my XP CD and restarting it. I choose to repair and then it asked me which Windows partition I wanted and I choose the only one that was there, and then it asked me for my Admin pass and I entered that and then it just stopped with C:\\Windows in the command line. There was nothing I could do, and I didn't know what to type so I typed Exit and it restarted my machine.

Oh, and I tried killing explorer.exe and starting a new one and the taskbar shows up for only a few seconds and then goes away.
__________________

__________________
<font size=1><b>Current Build:</b>
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
<a href=\"http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=77714\">AMD 64 X2 4400+ @ 2.20GHz</a>
Big Typhoon Heatsink/Fan
2 GB G.Skill DDR500 PC4000
eVGA 256MB 7800GTX
37GB Raptor
2x 120GB Hard Drives</font>
sickness is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 01:14 PM   #13 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Once you boot to disk... you need to select the install option first. Once the install takes hold you can then choose the repair option.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 01:18 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 458
Default

Oh, alright. I've got to head to class now but I'll check that out once I get back. Thanks for the help.
__________________
<font size=1><b>Current Build:</b>
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
<a href=\"http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=77714\">AMD 64 X2 4400+ @ 2.20GHz</a>
Big Typhoon Heatsink/Fan
2 GB G.Skill DDR500 PC4000
eVGA 256MB 7800GTX
37GB Raptor
2x 120GB Hard Drives</font>
sickness is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 01:22 PM   #15 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

no problem... good luck to you.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 04:47 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 458
Default

son of a *****. 2 hours later I still have no task bar. Repaired the god **** OS and still nothing.

****ing piece of ****.

Just tried the registry edit found on that woman's website and the taskbar is back. Did this last night and thought everything was okay but next time I restart I'm sure the ****ing taskbar will be gone again. God I hate windows.
__________________
<font size=1><b>Current Build:</b>
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
<a href=\"http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=77714\">AMD 64 X2 4400+ @ 2.20GHz</a>
Big Typhoon Heatsink/Fan
2 GB G.Skill DDR500 PC4000
eVGA 256MB 7800GTX
37GB Raptor
2x 120GB Hard Drives</font>
sickness is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 04:59 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Try this

http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/taskbarplus!.htm
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 11:42 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 458
Default

That is what I used last night and the problem happened again today. I will see if it contuines tomarrow. Right now I have the task bar and I'm happy. We'll see how long this will last though.
__________________
<font size=1><b>Current Build:</b>
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
<a href=\"http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=77714\">AMD 64 X2 4400+ @ 2.20GHz</a>
Big Typhoon Heatsink/Fan
2 GB G.Skill DDR500 PC4000
eVGA 256MB 7800GTX
37GB Raptor
2x 120GB Hard Drives</font>
sickness is offline  
Old 11-10-2005, 01:06 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 656
Default

You got some serious trouble. You may be forced to reformat.
Run Hijack-this, and post the log.
dnoch is offline  
Old 11-10-2005, 01:19 PM   #20 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

rebuild the local profile
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.