Doom 3: 9800 Pro vs. X800 Pro. - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-10-2004, 03:51 PM   #31 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

We were both playing on high settings. What settings are you playing on, porsche?
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 10-10-2004, 03:54 PM   #32 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 22
Default

i play on high as well. well i used to until i realise the game is deadly boring. but ive had no problems. i get lower bench scores than you as well which is kinda ironic. do u have this problem with any other game. like really rubbish FPS.
__________________

porsch1909 is offline  
Old 10-10-2004, 03:57 PM   #33 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by porsch1909
i play on high as well. well i used to until i realise the game is deadly boring. but ive had no problems. i get lower bench scores than you as well which is kinda ironic. do u have this problem with any other game. like really rubbish FPS.
What resolution are you playing on and are you using AA? I play it fine on 1024x768 and no AA, but he is playing it on much higher than that and blowing me away. I used to have major lag problems in Far Cry, but these latest drivers keep me above 20 fps on that game on 1280x1024 and 2xAA.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 10-10-2004, 03:59 PM   #34 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 22
Default

well there is something wrong with your card i think. ive had no problems with mine. i am very happy with it in fact. im playing on 1024*768 and 4*AA and 6*AF. so these are pretty high settings.
porsch1909 is offline  
Old 10-10-2004, 04:03 PM   #35 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Well I could play on high settings with my system below but with no AA, no AF, and at 800x600 resolution But I figure that's not too bad considering the lowest it goes is the teens every once in a great while when there's a few enemies and fireballs going around all at once, but not too bad considering it's previous gen nvidia, no performance ram, a bottleneck between CPU and RAM among other things lol. I'll eventually get my computer straightened out
Nubius is offline  
Old 10-10-2004, 04:05 PM   #36 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

i thought you were using those omega drivers bee? guess you went back because omega sucks! =)
Demalii is offline  
Old 10-10-2004, 04:14 PM   #37 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by porsch1909
well there is something wrong with your card i think. ive had no problems with mine. i am very happy with it in fact. im playing on 1024*768 and 4*AA and 6*AF. so these are pretty high settings.
Are you serious? I wish I could play at those settings. At 1024x768 and 4xAA, i get from 10-20 fps, sometimes dips as low as 5.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 10-10-2004, 04:15 PM   #38 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
i thought you were using those omega drivers bee?
Yeah beedub, thought you were exclaiming how great they were just a few days again
Nubius is offline  
Old 10-10-2004, 04:16 PM   #39 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 22
Default

i think you have a problem. it is a good card. reviews say so and reviews dont get those FPS in doom 3. try formatting the PC.
porsch1909 is offline  
Old 10-10-2004, 04:17 PM   #40 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
Yeah beedub, thought you were exclaiming how great they were just a few days again
Yeah, they really improved my Far Cry performance and even improved my D3 performance on low res and no AA. But if I crank up the AA or res on D3, it still kills this card.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.