Wont Boot up - Did i fry the mobo? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-14-2009, 04:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 10
Default Wont Boot up - Did i fry the mobo?

Ok so my xp machine wont boot up, as in no signal whatsoever is being sent to the display, despite powering up ok. The Dell diagnostic lights at the back arent on at all, which the manual suggests could be a pre-bios failure.

However, previous to being switched on, I opened up the computer for a good clean and to try to figure out how to remove the heatsink. For the cleaning i removed the fan (separate to the heatsink, the two share a plastic shroud) and front panel, and removed a **** of a lot of dust!

I did give the ol' sink a good jiggle, without actually removing it.
I then fitted everything back together and now this.
Made sure all the interconnects inside were in and swapped the RAM into another slot, checked the VGA cable was working - no improvement. So, did i fry the mobo? I opened her up a few days ago and removed and put back the 56k modem, and it was fine, but i didnt get quite this intimate. In terms of grounding myself thoroughly - I touched the radiator with both hands - it seemed to work for one of the IT tech guys who fixed another computer!

It was working fine before - i did a complete re-format and re-install to get the start up time down to 4.5 mins from a staggering 10.5 mins. I know 4.5 mins isnt exactly speedy either, but the machines stats will probably indicate why thats the best:

Dell Dimension 2400
Northwood based Celeron 2.4Ghz
512mb 333Mhz DDR RAM
40Gb Seagate Barracuda
Intel 845GV with Onboard Graphics
Hiper 460W PSU (this replaced the std. PSU when that gave up the ghost - no problems.)

It had been replaced as the family PC and was sitting idle in the loft for 2 years, so my aim was to upgrade it a bit to learn about PC hardware, but have I fallen at the first hurdle?
__________________

Selidor is offline  
Old 10-14-2009, 05:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Wont Boot up - Did i fry the mobo?

Clear the bios and see if it starts. Take the modem out and try it. Does your PC have 2 sticks of ram? Try it with just one stick, try the other stick. Unplug the drives, one at a time and see if one of them is stopping it. Remove the video card and try it, it won't work but were just looking for something different to happen. Try a different power supply.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 09:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 10
Default Re: Wont Boot up - Did i fry the mobo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
Clear the bios and see if it starts. Take the modem out and try it. Does your PC have 2 sticks of ram? Try it with just one stick, try the other stick. Unplug the drives, one at a time and see if one of them is stopping it. Remove the video card and try it, it won't work but were just looking for something different to happen. Try a different power supply.
Well i removed the mobo battery for 5 mins - no improvement. Removed the PCI modem,Swapped the single RAM stick , removed the drives (and their power supplies), Generally tried differenc combinations of things plugged in/not plugged in - still no improvement. Cant remove the Video card as it has onboard video, Dont have another power supply to try out. But both that and the heatsink get warm after turning on, so its not completly dead.

Considering all the problems Ive had with my XP machines, I cant say I wasnt expecting something like this to happen!
Selidor is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 09:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
kimsland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 255
Default Re: Wont Boot up - Did i fry the mobo?

Try unplugging the CPU fan, and then turn on for a few secs
It sounds more like a Power Supply issue though
kimsland is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 09:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 10
Default Re: Wont Boot up - Did i fry the mobo?

just unplugged it then, the power/loading and keyboard lights breifly go on and off but it refuses to start .
With everything plugged in as per normal there still is a little beep, is that a positive sign? Is Hiper a decent quality PSU brand?
I think its important to point out the last time i used the pc before opening it up, it crashed while running 3DMark 2001 at about 0-9fps, so I guess that might have been the nail in the coffin for the PSU.
Selidor is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 10:08 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
kimsland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 255
Default Re: Wont Boot up - Did i fry the mobo?

I don't know if Hiper is good or not (basically I hate any sales questions)
I go by the wattage and Amps, and even the actual PSU weight (imagine that)

If you have unplugged all internals ie:
  • All the associated data cables to the below from the Motherboard end
    Floppy
    Hard Drive
    CD
    Fans
    PCI Cards
And also re plugged in the 20 pin Motherboard power connector
And then try turning on (still with all of the above out, except the 20 pin power connector))
And it still doesn't work, I'd be thinking Power Supply Unit (any cheap one will do for those specs)
kimsland is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 10:43 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 10
Default Re: Wont Boot up - Did i fry the mobo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kimsland View Post
I don't know if Hiper is good or not (basically I hate any sales questions)
I go by the wattage and Amps, and even the actual PSU weight (imagine that)

If you have unplugged all internals ie:
  • All the associated data cables to the below from the Motherboard end
    Floppy
    Hard Drive
    CD
    Fans
    PCI Cards
And also re plugged in the 20 pin Motherboard power connector
And then try turning on (still with all of the above out, except the 20 pin power connector))
And it still doesn't work, I'd be thinking Power Supply Unit (any cheap one will do for those specs)
The minimum it has to be connected to for it to actually start is the fan connector, the 20 pin power connector and a 4 pin power connector, and the on/off button connector - and it still wont work.
So Ill looks like ill be investing in a new PSU then.
Selidor is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 10:46 AM   #8 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Wont Boot up - Did i fry the mobo?

Check all the plugs as suggested above.. Good chance you wiggled one just enough that its not propperly seated.

Edit

NVM seems you checked.

when booting with no ram, does it squeel?
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 10:46 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 10
Default Re: Wont Boot up - Did i fry the mobo?

ah one question though - does it matter whether the new one is micro ATX or just regular?
Selidor is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 10:54 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
kimsland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 255
Default Re: Wont Boot up - Did i fry the mobo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Selidor View Post
ah one question though - does it matter whether the new one is micro ATX or just regular?
Doesn't matter, especially for testing purposes

Also your "minimum" stated above: You don't need to fans connected to have the computer POST
__________________

kimsland is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 FAQ and Questions KSoD Microsoft Windows and Software 1600 03-04-2013 11:29 PM
Phenom x4 work on my Mobo? M4A1 System Upgrades 10 06-03-2009 04:24 PM
Vista won't boot without CD tigerfootball05 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 05-09-2009 08:42 PM
Darik Boot Failed DummyTron Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-12-2008 10:25 PM
P5K Premium "Proper Boot Device/Insert Boot Media" s-patrol Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-02-2007 12:37 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.