SM Bus Controller error - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-23-2007, 06:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 6
Default SM Bus Controller error

Reinstalled Windoze XP Pro today, however don't have the installation cd containing the SM Bus Controller Drivers. Not sure where to start looking to try to find the correct one.

Seem to be having trouble installing the SiS 315 drivers, not sure if this is related.
__________________

Chill Winstaan is offline  
Old 02-23-2007, 09:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

SM Bus Controller is the driver for ur Ethernet card. What kind of motherboard are u using? maybe i can help u.
__________________

__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 06:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 6
Default

Is it always for ethernet? I was under the impression it was the low speed system communication management bus. Motherboard is Gericom N34AS1.
Chill Winstaan is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 07:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

...Yep it's System Management Bus.

Check for chipset drivers from the motherboard manufacturer.

Is it a laptop?
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 01:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 6
Default

Yes, it is a laptop.
Chill Winstaan is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 03:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

hmm German motherboard, nice.
go here to find ur model and ur drivers: http://download.gericom.com/NOTEBOOK/
__________________

__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.