Why did my mobo fry? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-15-2005, 11:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 11
Question Why did my mobo fry?

Today I was setting up a new pc. AMD 64 3000 socket 939 processor, 120 gig hd, 512x2 ddr 400 ram, dvd rw, 9800 pro.

Well I had everything set up and connected, it all looked good. I didnt close up the case because I wanted to test it first. I made sure the psu had the right voltage setting. Plugged it in, hit the power button and poof, up comes a grey wisp of smoke from the mobo. I didnt get a good look because it happened so fast, the smoke seemed to be coming from underneath where a brass riser was placed or from the slot area where the sound card went in.

What are some causes for a mother board to smoke like this? I was sure all my risers were in place. When I put in the soundcard it was hard to put in, i had to push it in hard to get the metal to slide past the mobo and case.

I checked the mobo top and bottom for scorching but I never found any.

Also I should mention that when I powered up, the processor fan started spinning but after the smoke came out of the mobo it all stopped. Is it likely everything that was connected is fried...
__________________

herzblutx88 is offline  
Old 08-17-2005, 08:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 212
Send a message via AIM to jerry5739
Default

dude, that is awful....i pity you.
__________________

__________________
AMD 2700+ @~2.3
ASRock K7Upgrade-880
Corsair Value Select 1024MB DDR400
Kingwin Muntant X Case
eVGA 6600 GT
Seagate 80 GB HD
Allied 420W PSU
jerry5739 is offline  
Old 08-17-2005, 10:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Did you mount the board correctly?
turtile is offline  
Old 08-18-2005, 12:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4
Default

man i feel bad 4 ya!! that wrots!! My thought would be if it was grounded! some cases have holes where you put a brass post to ground the mobo and other cases have bump ups to hold the board!! im not sure if the bump ups actually ground it properly!! Sry 4 the bad news !! sounds like the cpu and mobo are gone
g4l_sweepa is offline  
Old 08-18-2005, 01:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

I betyou it was just the motherboard, just RMA it and try again.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-18-2005, 02:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 11
Default

Man this whole ordeal has sucked majorly. I had the mobo on all the brass stands, no doubt about it. Ive made several pcs in the past with no problem. When I hit the powerswitch the smoke came up from the wiring of the mobo im pretty certain. Well the new mobo should get here today or tomorrow. I had to pay 60$ just to mail the defect back, almost enough to entirely buy a new one... When I get the mobo Ill test and see if the ram and pc are fried. I ordered all this from new egg, if my stuff was fried because of a mobo defect will I be supplied with the new parts? Man this is bs, never ordering mobos or processors online ever again, if I have to mail back the processor and ram thats gonna cost a great deal...
herzblutx88 is offline  
Old 08-18-2005, 02:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

why did you have to pay $60
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 08-18-2005, 02:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 11
Default

To mail it back for a refund. I live in ny, the company newegg is in california, total f*ckin bs to mail a package.
herzblutx88 is offline  
Old 08-18-2005, 04:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

since when does it cost $60? I had to return a motherboard to newegg in CA and it only cost $12 for ground service.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 08-18-2005, 05:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I believe newegg also has a store in Tennessee(sp?)

So you should have been able to send it there....either way though theres no way it should cost you $60 just to deliver it to california...a mobo weighs what...MAYBE 2 lbs after it's in the box with wires and everything in it....regular USPS ground shipping at the most for your distance shoulda been like $10
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.