AMD's 3GHz K10 to break 30,000 3DMark06 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-28-2007, 07:14 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: AMD's 3GHz K10 to break 30,000 3DMark06

30k? lol i hope its true.. cuz if it then we can brag that.. we spent half the price as kingp1n and still scored more than him and all we had to do was wait (btw is this for the Quad-core Opteron of FX?)
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-28-2007, 07:14 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 273
Default Re: AMD's 3GHz K10 to break 30,000 3DMark06

100% BS.. 5.0+ghz intel quads get around 26k and that's with ln2 and all that fun stuff. There is absolutely no way that a moderate overclock of a phenom would beat Intel by that much.. it would be amazing if it beat it at all at only 3.0ghz.
__________________

__________________
Old rig sold.. :(

Dell Vostro 1700:
C2D T5470, 8600m GT, WXGA+ screen, 2GB RAM, 160GB HD, Vista Ultimate
mrfluffles is offline  
Old 08-28-2007, 07:17 PM   #13 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: AMD's 3GHz K10 to break 30,000 3DMark06

its from the inquirer...20k maybe?
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 08-28-2007, 07:22 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: AMD's 3GHz K10 to break 30,000 3DMark06

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrfluffles View Post
100% BS.. 5.0+ghz intel quads get around 26k and that's with ln2 and all that fun stuff. There is absolutely no way that a moderate overclock of a phenom would beat Intel by that much.. it would be amazing if it beat it at all at only 3.0ghz.
Well... If u think about it, Core is over 12 months old now, and K10 is a brand new arcitechture, so why would it be so surprising to you if it was significantly faster? Dont make the same mistake that intel did by underestimating AMD.
Vaanish is offline  
Old 08-28-2007, 07:28 PM   #15 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: AMD's 3GHz K10 to break 30,000 3DMark06

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
30k? lol i hope its true.. cuz if it then we can brag that.. we spent half the price as kingp1n and still scored more than him and all we had to do was wait (btw is this for the Quad-core Opteron of FX?)
Well he gets that stuff for free, since he is sponsored...and if that score is true, imagine when he overclocks with LN2.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-28-2007, 07:34 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: AMD's 3GHz K10 to break 30,000 3DMark06

any idea on 07's release date??
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-28-2007, 07:44 PM   #17 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: AMD's 3GHz K10 to break 30,000 3DMark06

I don't know about this year. But they might as well, call it 3DMark08. I think around next year. Who knows...
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-28-2007, 08:41 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: AMD's 3GHz K10 to break 30,000 3DMark06

Ok, the current record is 27039 which is at 5112Ghz. Say they did break 30K with only 3.0Ghz on a K10...

That would mean that the K10 architecture is ~1.9 times faster than the core 2 duo architecture (if my maths are right). A whopping 90% faster than an intel core 2 quad!!!

This is not even taking into account the likely difference in GPU overclock from the current leader in 3dmark06.

There is no way the K10 is almost twice as fast, this is bs... Maybe 40% at most...
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 08-28-2007, 09:01 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: AMD's 3GHz K10 to break 30,000 3DMark06

kingpin broke 27k. i think the record before that was high 26k with 2 ATI's. I wouldn't jump the gun and raise the BS flag just yet.
mgcook is offline  
Old 08-28-2007, 09:32 PM   #20 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: AMD's 3GHz K10 to break 30,000 3DMark06

i see this in the near future...like Q4 07 future:



the phenom hammer. booya.

Quote:
In the real world, our Intel Kentie 2.93GHz test bed will score around 7.5 GB/s, Athlon 64 X2 5000+ shoots around 8.3-8.8 GB/s, depending on the memory latency, and now Phenom scores even better – pretty close to a five figure range. But regardless of missing the 10 GB/s mark, it is still faster than any DDR3 memory on an Intel system, regardless of the clock achieved by the DDR3 memory. If you put the memory on 1066 MHz, 11GB/s bandwidth was smashed with read, write and copy tests and that was by quite some margin
oh, dang. oh, lovely news indeed...
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.