Elbatrop1's Guide to RAM - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-04-2005, 03:01 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 16
Default

How do you know what type of RAM your computer needs?
__________________

MattRiddle is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 05:34 AM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

your motherboard manual is the simplest way to find out. if you need help post some more info. you can use programs to identify the type of RAM (in a systerm that already has RAM or look at the type of RAM already in it.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-11-2005, 06:28 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

just might want to note that although PC3200 Should have 3.2gps bandwidth some pc3200 can be as low as 2.4-5gps bandwidth
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 10:10 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2
Default

mmmmm.... ram, ram, ram..... i love ram.... even tho i dont have enough. lol
Madmonk325 is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 06:20 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1
Default

Good thinking
Unregistered67 is offline  
Old 11-22-2005, 07:45 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 276
Send a message via AIM to Camden
Default

Is there even any one of those that's waaaay ahead of the pack qualitywise?
Camden is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 02:09 AM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
bonehelm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 612
Default

can i have two different brands of ram in the rig?
__________________
PC Specs:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 Conroe 2.13ghz
Gigabyte P35-S3 Motherboard
A-DATA 2x1GB DDR2 800mhz memory
Geforce 8600GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI-Express
bonehelm is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 10:46 AM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

yes, it only matters when it comes to more specific things like trying to run dual channel. there are a few brands that stand out. OCZ being my preference. as a rule you get what you pay for basically.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 07:13 AM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Default RE:

Hi

Your info's good for those who want some basic knowledge but I am a bit confused why you don't include RD Ram as a common type of ram. Yes it is more for servers and it does not really concern the basic user but it can be used in a desktop system aswell.

You must know that RD Ram has been around for some time and most IBM servers and other servers will have that type of ram for their systems but have your ever wondered or looked at the possibility of getting a AMD opertron or Xeon based system instead of a Althon64 X2 etc etc. I know I have including ideas of the possibility of an dual Octo core computer. The Octo (8) is based on Intel's latest predictions of the up and coming lines coming out of their production runs. Octo cores should be here by 2008.

Sorry to get sidetracked. RD Ram against a DDR2 667mhz computer would be quite interesting. Some high performance gaming computers have become in essence a server geared for gaming. Some even have dual or custom water cooling systems for dual core dual processor systems.

Just thought I'd add these comments for you guys to think about.

Kind Regards
lamedog
lamedog is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 07:26 AM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: RE:

Quote:
Originally posted by lamedog
Your info's good for those who want some basic knowledge but I am a bit confused why you don't include RD Ram as a common type of ram.
well, it really isn't a common type of RAM.
Intel tried to push people to RD when they made their Pentium 4's (RDRAM is the reason the Pentium 4's FSB is quad pumped) however DDR was (and still is) a lot less expensive, and performance not much less, especially with dual channel.

it didn't grow into the market very much, and just faded away.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.