X2 4800+ OC Results - Page 9 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-13-2006, 11:40 AM   #81 (permalink)
WWS
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 270
Default

The ram fails at test 6 at stock speeds as well in memtest-86.

However, my system runs fine playing very demanding games and other programs. Never have any problems with crashing.

I am not sure what to think. Do I have faulty ram or is memtest screwed up?? Maybe I am not setting memtest properly.

When using memtest do I just let it load from the boot disk and start? Are there certain parametes that need to be set?
__________________

__________________
12 Gb GSkill DDR3 Tripple Channel
2 500 Gb SATA II HD
2 BluRay Burners
2 9800GTX+ in SLI
ASUS Rampage II Extreme
Intel Core i7 920 @3.8 GHz
WWS is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 05:09 PM   #82 (permalink)
WWS
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 270
Default

Memtest-86 does not support my chipset, would this possibly cause the errors in test 6??
__________________

__________________
12 Gb GSkill DDR3 Tripple Channel
2 500 Gb SATA II HD
2 BluRay Burners
2 9800GTX+ in SLI
ASUS Rampage II Extreme
Intel Core i7 920 @3.8 GHz
WWS is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 08:32 PM   #83 (permalink)
WWS
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 270
Default

I figured out why the memory was not passing memtest86+. The Legacy USB was causing the errors, after disableing the legacy USB in the bios and retesting the memory passed 2 times through memtest.

So now I will continue to proceed trying to get beyond the 2.8GHz speed.
__________________
12 Gb GSkill DDR3 Tripple Channel
2 500 Gb SATA II HD
2 BluRay Burners
2 9800GTX+ in SLI
ASUS Rampage II Extreme
Intel Core i7 920 @3.8 GHz
WWS is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 09:02 PM   #84 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 742
Default

what voltage are you running at? cuz my 4400 is barely stable at 2.53 with 1.5 volts. are you above that?
wtk pro l is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 09:11 PM   #85 (permalink)
WWS
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 270
Default

I put all timings and frequencies currently back to original settings but now that I found my problem, I will try and go Higher.

I had Vcore set at 1.45V at 2.8GHz but was having Ram stability problems due to the legacy USB. Try disableing the Legacy USB and see what happens.
__________________
12 Gb GSkill DDR3 Tripple Channel
2 500 Gb SATA II HD
2 BluRay Burners
2 9800GTX+ in SLI
ASUS Rampage II Extreme
Intel Core i7 920 @3.8 GHz
WWS is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 02:34 AM   #86 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default

wow i missed this whole thread....u have almost same components as mine.
x2 4800+ @2.8ghz, DFI LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR
ZALMAN 9500, X-Fi XtremeMusic
OCZ Titanium 2x1GB, OCZ Powerstream 600W PSU

prime95, cpu-z:


3dmark06


cpu voltage is set high at 1.6. no ram divider but lowered timings to 3-3-3-8 from 2.5-3-2-5. not much loss in read or write speed (tested in everest). i want to try lowering voltage a little but keep the same OC...or push more but keep it at 1.6v at max. but i've been too busy to play around...:sigh: cpu stays always cool and nice. i have to somehow figure out way to cool down the other parts. in bios its 12x234, x4multi.
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 10:20 AM   #87 (permalink)
WWS
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 270
Default

when messing around with memory timings, the higher the number the slower memory becomes, correct?

I am asking because boomstick666 said he lowered timings but actually increased the numbers.
__________________
12 Gb GSkill DDR3 Tripple Channel
2 500 Gb SATA II HD
2 BluRay Burners
2 9800GTX+ in SLI
ASUS Rampage II Extreme
Intel Core i7 920 @3.8 GHz
WWS is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 12:18 PM   #88 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by WWS
when messing around with memory timings, the higher the number the slower memory becomes, correct?

I am asking because boomstick666 said he lowered timings but actually increased the numbers.
yes the less number is faster. so i should have said ive loosen the mem timings.
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 07:44 PM   #89 (permalink)
WWS
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 270
Default

when overclocking should I

1. Change the LTD linkwidth to 16 up and down?

2. Set the SB to NB frequency multipier the same as the LTD multiplier?

3. Set the SB to NB frequency the same as the FSB frequency?
__________________

__________________
12 Gb GSkill DDR3 Tripple Channel
2 500 Gb SATA II HD
2 BluRay Burners
2 9800GTX+ in SLI
ASUS Rampage II Extreme
Intel Core i7 920 @3.8 GHz
WWS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.