Overheating problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-11-2006, 06:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 176
Send a message via AIM to underworld288
Default Overheating problem

that is my case and i have two fans in the front of the case (80mm), one on the side (also 80mm), and on in the back (120mm) and when playing almost any game my computer overheats. Do you think that it could have something to do with the case or not enough fans?

oh and the computer even overheats when the side of the case is off, so, as a quick fix i tool the side of the case and put a big fan next to it on high.

any help would be nice, thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg bio 2.jpg (32.0 KB, 128 views)
__________________

__________________
RAM: 1.0GB
HDD: 420Gb Hard Drive
OS: Windows XP Pro
VC: MSI NX7800GT (stock)
PRO: AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Venice (stock)
MOBO: MSI K8N Neo4-f
underworld288 is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 06:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

r u sure its overheating? wat psu u got? that could b the problem as i think u hav enough fans. it could be that ur cpu isnt stable, hav u tried running prime95?
__________________

Mentali$T is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 06:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 176
Send a message via AIM to underworld288
Default

i have a 600watt psu
__________________
RAM: 1.0GB
HDD: 420Gb Hard Drive
OS: Windows XP Pro
VC: MSI NX7800GT (stock)
PRO: AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Venice (stock)
MOBO: MSI K8N Neo4-f
underworld288 is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 06:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 176
Send a message via AIM to underworld288
Default

and as for the prime95 i dont have a pentium cpu so i cant use it
__________________
RAM: 1.0GB
HDD: 420Gb Hard Drive
OS: Windows XP Pro
VC: MSI NX7800GT (stock)
PRO: AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Venice (stock)
MOBO: MSI K8N Neo4-f
underworld288 is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 06:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

uhhh what are your temps when you overheat? Make sure your fans are all blowing the right direction. Other then that, case mods, and new heatsinks.
Sui is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 06:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default

Quote:
and as for the prime95 i dont have a pentium cpu so i cant use it
......... where did u here that.... Prime95 is a program to test ur CPU make sure its stable. U can run Prime95 with AMDs. Try it and run it for 8 hours or so and if it has errors, report back to TFs.
__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 07:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 176
Send a message via AIM to underworld288
Default

i looked on this website that was talkin about the program and it said that, but then i tried the program and your right. ill try and run all tonight and see what happens.
and Sui idk the temps i just know it shuts down when im in the middle of playin games.
__________________
RAM: 1.0GB
HDD: 420Gb Hard Drive
OS: Windows XP Pro
VC: MSI NX7800GT (stock)
PRO: AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Venice (stock)
MOBO: MSI K8N Neo4-f
underworld288 is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 07:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

lol yea p95 can b used with all cpu's. wat make is the psu, if its a rubbish make then i would recommend a new not cheap one as its a vital component.
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 07:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Download everest home edition. Or one of those temperature programs that comes with your motherboard on the motherboard cd.
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 05-14-2006, 08:11 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 176
Send a message via AIM to underworld288
Default

the psu is a powmax
__________________

__________________
RAM: 1.0GB
HDD: 420Gb Hard Drive
OS: Windows XP Pro
VC: MSI NX7800GT (stock)
PRO: AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Venice (stock)
MOBO: MSI K8N Neo4-f
underworld288 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.