Biostar I45 - unable to O.C. - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-09-2008, 08:15 PM   #31 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 32
Default Re: Biostar I45 - unable to O.C.

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
So set it close to it.... Itsd not rocket science... just over-clocking.

The very slight bounce is fine, 0.05v is little, now 0.50v is big.
Alright, I can live with that.


But I can't live with failing IntelburnTest on default settings and having my temps hit 66c with only a +.1v increase at full load. I just don't know what my next step is.

I should have all the hardware to do it right.

Q9550 with a low VID
Biostar I45
G.Skill PI black 2x2gb
Sunbeam Core contact freezer
Antec 900 with extra fans and TONS of air flow


So frustrating.
__________________

bigjared is offline  
Old 12-09-2008, 10:01 PM   #32 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Biostar I45 - unable to O.C.

Have you reseated your fan? and what kind of paste you using?

Edit.....

Have you checked your Vid and Vcore while runing prime?

As I have a hard time believinh your 1.1Vid.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 12:01 AM   #33 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 32
Default Re: Biostar I45 - unable to O.C.

I have no reseated the headsink yet, but it came with Tx-2? whatever comes with the Sunbeam CCF.


I believe my VID is accurate, I mean I disabled C1E and speedstep in the I45 bios and my coretemp VIDis 1.10000 at 377x8.5 for 3119mhz. Also under the same settings my CPU-Z says I am only running a 6.0 multiplier but I am pretty sure its a bug and the core voltage jumps around between 1.1 and 1.2.
(I left everything on auto and just increased the FSB)
bigjared is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 12:02 AM   #34 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Biostar I45 - unable to O.C.

to get a proper vid.. look at core temp while running itnel burn test
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 12:23 AM   #35 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 32
Default Re: Biostar I45 - unable to O.C.

coretemp or CPU-z while running intel burn test?


And intel burn test really frustrates me. I keep getting fails even on default stock settings. Any idea what I can do about it?
bigjared is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 12:28 AM   #36 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Biostar I45 - unable to O.C.

both....

and i guess run super pi 32m
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 03:48 AM   #37 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: Biostar I45 - unable to O.C.

easiest way to do it is just make sure your CPU is loaded (P95, Orthos, IBT, SPi, converting a video, or anything else), then look at the VID in CoreTemp
__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 12:23 PM   #38 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Biostar I45 - unable to O.C.

Yha, i think, as mentioned above, you still have stepping on.

Its not bad, but gives youj a skewed vid and vcore, which is why you're failing.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 05:07 PM   #39 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 32
Default Re: Biostar I45 - unable to O.C.

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
Yha, i think, as mentioned above, you still have stepping on.

Its not bad, but gives youj a skewed vid and vcore, which is why you're failing.
Well I really don't know how to turn it off in the I45 bios then because I have disabled C1E and speedstep. What else is there?
bigjared is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 05:11 PM   #40 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Biostar I45 - unable to O.C.

Someone above posted, they too, couldn't figure it out either.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just got my Biostar I45 Squirtis Overclocking and Modding 4 11-17-2008 12:42 AM
BIOSTAR T-Series Question Sigma62 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 10-09-2008 05:58 PM
new rig, biostar i45, no post. Akubane Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 10-03-2008 02:59 PM
Asus 790GX vs. Biostar Tpower nForce 750a Jtumble2 New Systems | Building and Buying 33 09-16-2008 09:26 AM
My computer gets to the xp loading screen and restarts. tivaelydoc Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 10-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.