Building a $200 Linux Computer

Status
Not open for further replies.

harryoh

Beta member
Hello Community,

Page 3 - Build a $200 Linux PC | ExtremeTech

This site provides a guide for building a $200 Linux Computer. It's my first time building a computer, so I'm a little worried that this guide is illegitimate. Can you please take a look at the parts introduced in the tutorial?

Also, I am concerned that the pc-assembling tutorials online will be too difficult to follow, because all of the parts that I will be using will not match the ones used throughout the tutorials. Is this something to be worried about?

I've been trying to read on some online resources/guides on building a pc. What do you believe is an excellent place to find step-by-step guides (any particular threads on this forum or pages on other websites)?

(I posted this exact same question on PCMech, but the post was disapproved because the link that I provided contained "illegal" parts or something to that nature. But there is nothing illegal to my knowledge)

Looks good to me.. However, it was posted in mid 2010 and some of the parts might not be available / be more expensive nowadays.

Building a computer is pretty much universal among all component types.. A 1-slot video card will install just the same as a 2-slot save for the extra slot.

If I'm looking for tutorials on how to do something, I generally use HowStuffWorks or Instructibles.
HowStuffWorks "How to Build a Computer"

You can run Linux off of about anything. I have Debian on my Atom ITX, as well as my i5 760. So, a wide range there. Wouldn't agree with his PSU choosings, but w/e.

looking at the authors notes regarding case/psu: