faster computer make internet faster, same connection? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Internet Software and Browsers
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-13-2005, 02:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5
Exclamation faster computer make internet faster, same connection?

I am getting a new VAIO, much better than my current emachines...however, i will be keepin gthe same internet connection. Will the newer, faster, more powerful computer make the web pages load faster, or will it be the same? please help!
__________________

__________________
supernw390 is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 02:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

you're most likely to notice an increase of speed
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 03:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

What are your old computers' specs?
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 10:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 24
Default

Internet connection is effected from several things.
The computer specifications.
The OS status - is it maintenance or is it neglected
The internet connection - the wider the better...
And last but not least - the website you are surfing to - if the website located far from you, and has to go through many gateways on the way, this could slow down the surfing speed.
______________
In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than your fear of failure.
If you want to succeed, change your luck number to 888... You won't believe what will happen to you...
__________________
simplejohn is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 11:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,282
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

If you are on dial-up, there will be no increase in speed whatsoever. A 28.8K AOL connection will be exactly the same on a 90MHz Pentium 1 as it will a 3GHz Pentium 4. Also, spyware and adware can slow down your connection as well, whether you have dialup or broadband.
__________________
beedubaya is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 01:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 76
Default

Try this site out if you want to maximize your pc connection to the net. Under the broadband category, there is all sorts of useful information.
http://speedguide.net
Fallen Angel is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 05:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

ill disagree with bee here...
my old p.o.s. comp was getting a 42.2 kbps connection..
my new and better comp is getting a 19.2 kbps connection and loads pages faster...
__________________
Static_11 is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 05:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

guys, internet connection has nothing to do with computer spead, only the NIC. The difference you WILL see though is the speed it takes to OPEN up the browser, minimise it, and stuff like that, but the actual data transfer rate should be the same speed unless the NIC you had was old and crappy, and not setup well with the OS.

My internet connection is exactly the same on my pc in my sig, and on a 300 mgz laptop POS, both using 100 mb/s nics.
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 11:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

idk.. i did have a crap load of trojans (like.. 60 or 70) on that comp.. i guess that was it.. and all the popups... omg.. it was insane...
__________________
Static_11 is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 04:36 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 21
Default

I would really have to agree with U-Toast on this, Your computer Speed has Nothing to do with your internet. Your Nic will effect it though. If your drivers are properly installed and if it is a 10/100 or a gig NIC then you will see the difference. Your computer will make software run smoother though.
__________________

__________________
arkcain is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.