Router assigns duplicate IP addresses

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fishy

Baseband Member
Please can anyone answer this:- I have a Belkin wireless router which is set to 'dynamic IP', that if i'm right in thinking, assigns IP addresses to the clients automatically, and these are not fixed. I have 3 clients connected, a wired PC (PC1), and two wireless notebooks (PC2 and PC3). What is happening is this, I can boot all 3 clients up in no particular order, and the router appears to be assigning the same IP address to two of the clients, usually PC1 (Wired) and PC3 (Wireless) which causes a conflict. How can i get round this? I'm not sure if I can use fixed IP addresses with my ISP, Ntlworld.
Thanks Fishy

Try resetting it and if that doesnt work, flash the firmware.

The DHCP server is having some serious issues I guess...

Thankyou for replying m8, during the initial installation of the router, i updated the firmware. Is that what u mean by 'flashing'. I'm a bit of a noob, sorry

Yeah that's what I mean by flashing, I would do it again even if you have the newest version.

UPDATE- I've tried re-installing the updated firmware, no luck though the problem still persists. The router operates 100% ok in every other respect, so i'm inclined to think it must be my settings:(

Have you checked all settings on the router and pc's?

Make sure there isn't a static DHCP setting in the router for either of the conflicting pc's.

Make sure both PC's are set to dynamically obtain their IP.