ques on a rm-250(mx bike)

Status
Not open for further replies.
HEY! lol, i guess im getting back in the dirtbike scene(last one got stoled, long story) well, one of my dads freinds is giving us a 2001 suzuki rm-250 for free(has either a blown piston, connecting rod, or crankshaft) with all new plastics, suspension, seat, bars, totaly raced out, fmf pipes, mikuni carb. just wondering if anybody has ridden/have one of these bikes and if they is cool and whatnot. thks in advance

I have a 06 cr 125. It freaking Rips. Can get some really good lap times now.

Is the 250 2 stroke or is a 250 F.?

2stroke, should be gettin it tomorrow, unless we decide to get the xr200 from him(were gettine either/or for fee) my dad keeps on leanin towards the xr200 cause he never seen me ride, and he thinks im a total newb at dirtbikes...

i used to have a 98 yz125 that was totaly wicked, but got jacked out of my shed like 3 months ago. were gettin full paperwork on the rm250, and it just has the piston/rod/crank prob. should be an eazy fix, im prety good at mechanics, but my dad, being stubborn as he is wants to work on the bike he cant work on bikes worth a ****. last time, 1979 suzuki rm80 bored to 98cc, the kicker broke off, so he rebuilt the motor, and messed up the trans so bad, that when u let the clutch out it still slipps, and when its in, the wheel still has power. were gettin the bike, boots, and some other gear for free(were fixing his truck up, but hes broke, kinda). its a **** of a good deal, cause that bike brand new is like 5000, used on ebay its like 2,500. ive been reading about the bike, and it seems that this model, they completely redid the bike, its lighter, more power, better suspension, etc. im just trying to find someone who's ridden this bike before, and their personal opinion on handeling, power, and the quality of the ride.