Problem dual booting XP pro and Debian

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pyrocide

Baseband Member
Hi there,

Im pretty new to linux all together. I have had some experience with it from my uncle showing me the very basics. I enjoyed it so I decided to redo my desktop to dual boot XP pro and Debian i386. First this is my current desktop. My desktop is for gaming and fiddling with for funsies

Intel e8500
Asus P5N-D mobo (compatible with linux)
XFX GTX 260 (nVidia provides linux drivers)
LG DVD writer
1x WD Caviar 320GB hdd
2x WD Caviar 160GB hdds

Now here is what I did. Originally i had the 2x 160s set up in a RAID 0 and had XP Pro installed. When i went to linux, since im not fully comfortable with linux i wanted an OS that i am comfortable working with if i have to do errands online and typing documents etc, i got a 320 hdd and installed it into the SATA 1 drive, and the other 2 on my SATA 2 and 3 ports. I cleared the raid and discs from the XP Setup menus. I got XP installed and then when it was loading it got to the XP pro logo and the scrolling bar but then it went to the blue screen of death. Now then, i talked to my uncle and he said go ahead and install debian on the second hdds to get grub on my first hdd. Got debian installed correctly and got it to start up and tried using the command startx. It got an error that means i have not video driver. Which is fine, but i tried rebooting from the root by using shutdown -r now command and it rebooted and i went into the grub OS selection. Selected XP but again blue screen of death. I unplugged the 3rd blank HD and still same thing when going into XP. After a couple hours of unplugging hdds, plugging them back in, and reinstalling in the same manner i got frustrated and said screw it. hehe.

Is there something i am missing or not doing correctly? Is it because of the different size in hdds? Any help would be most appreciated.