merging Networks

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lise

Beta member
Hi, I don't know if I'm in the right place or if anyone can help me. I'm a student and I've been given an assignment on Merging Networks and I don't know where or how to start.
It's about two companies recently merged, one having a large Windows NT based network providing IT facilities throughout the company, and the other uses a Novell Netware Based network system.

Eventually both companies will be using WINDOWS NT Systems but in the meantime the first mentioned company needs to have full access to the Netware based IT system and vice versa.

Naturally this will involve merging the two networks so as far as the users are concerned they are connected to a single network.

The aim of this assignment is to produce a feasibility report outlining the case for the merging of the two networks and determining the viability of the merger, and to develop a comprehensive project plan for its sucessful implementation.
These two documents will form the basis of a presentation which I have to present to my tutor (representing the management)in order to convince him that the proposed network is feasible, cost effective and practical.

If anyone can help me I would really be glad for it. Thanks
:)

Did they specify that these companies are in different buildings or geographical locations? Do you know what os's they are running?

Here at my work, we have a windows NT domain and a netware 4.xx server....among others. We authenicate our users through both win/novell. Our Novell network is strictly IPX while windows is tcp/ip. Our users can communicate to both networks because we setup the MS client and Novell client.

What's their requirements?

Yep, we do the same thing at the University Libraries where I work at. We have a network combining netware and windows. We use IP for netware.