Lan Party. Networking side.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lord_Flint

Beta member
Ok i am kind of new to networking. So i really could use any good tuts you guys know of, I am looking at setting up a 100 person lan in the next few months, i need ot build servers, and a network.

I dont know what type of Hub/router/switchs work well togeather.
I have read one guide that said i will need one 10/100 8port switch, and a hub for ever 8 players. where does the router fall in there? so many bad tuts, i need some good ones.

Any help would be cool. thank you.

Lord_Flint

the switch with hubs may be more cost efficient. But by your description a 8port switch with 8port hubs connected, thats 8*8 or 64 nodes.

I'd suggest buying a switch stack

compare prices for dell powerconnect switches

here's what i suggest you get we have these at my work. You'll need three switches and you'll stack them so they act as one switch

You want to connect your nodes directly to switches because it provides dedicated bandwidth and allows no collisions to occur.

you could use a class c address to provide you with 253 addresses, example 192.168.1.0 network address 255.255.255.0 subnet mask.

You'll want to setup a dhcp server so you don't have to manually configure each machine's ip.

Cant I set up a network with Switchs on switchs? that Switch was 600$ and only has 48 slots.

I guess, i could get 3 of them. but that would be 1800. And i am not sure if i want to spend that much right now, what if i did like one 8 por 10/100/1000 switch to 5 24 port 10/100 switches. Would that not work for a gaming network that is going to be run on a lan once a month? that would cost around the price for one of them 48 ports.

What do you think about that?Would it work almost as good? I know it is more hardware to set up. and maintain.

Server->10/100/1000 8 port->24port10/100->nodes

Lord_Flint?