Is it a good idea to start my own computer shop??

Status
Not open for further replies.

shgadwa

Beta member
Currently, I'm an independent contractor and I work for companies like IBM, HP, ZIP Installs, etc. etc. doing install jobs as well as part swaps and repairs on computers and many other such devices.

Although I'm paid $30-$55 per hour, there's expenses involved. For one, most of the places I go to are 30-60 miles or more from my home. Although my car does get about 34 miles per gallon, with gas, insurance, and wear and tear on my vehicle... not to mention my time on the road, I'm not getting paid as well as I could be. But still... after taxes and other such expenses, I figure I'm being paid about $24 per hour but that doesn't include my time on the road. Although things are looking better for these jobs... I'm improving my skill, taking on new work... which will, in turn... make more money, I'm sure.

I had this idea though, because it would almost be impossible for me to do these on-site jobs full time (there just isn't enough work), I could open up my own computer shop and do work for other people, on the bench basically while I still have my on site jobs.

In this computer shop, I would:

1. Sell a small amount of new computers as well as used computers, by appointment only or on my website (I do NOT want to babysit a store. Been there, done that.) I'd like to hit online sales big. I would especially want to buy used computers like from colleges, and resell them.
2. Give the customer an option of me driving to their home to fix a computer, them dropping it off when I'm home, or I'd have a drop off box for when I'm not home. They'd just fill out a form, open a door in the wall... put the computer in the cavity, lock the door and shut it.

But I see a few problems with this and it sort of makes me want to proceed with caution.