First gaming PC build

Allymcd97

Solid State Member
Hi guys! I'm a newbie here, and this is my first post! I come seeking advice...

I'm a long-term console gamer, but recently, I've started to explore the realms of PC gaming, and I'm lovin' it! The problem is, my terrible Sony vaio laptop is just not capable of running any games (well, any games better than the chess that comes with windows) without extreme lag, even at lowest settings. I've decided to throw myself in at the deep end and build myself a gaming PC.

Now, I'm very new to this, but I've spent quite a lot of time recently looking around the Internet, and I think I'm starting to get an okay grasp of what makes a good PC, but I'm not sure.... If anyone could give me a little of their time, just to show me / tell me what I'm doing right, and what I'm doing majorly wrong, I'd be very grateful! I haven't bought anything as of yet, which is why I'm here, to see if my little list of the components that I think look good, will A) work together, B) be able to run games like Minecraft, TF2, BF3, FC3, runescape (I'm sad, I know...) and others on max settings, and at relatively high fps (no lag please!). I'm only 16 years old, but I do work on the weekends, so my budget is around £1000, but I'll go higher if necessary!

Here goes nothing!

CASE
NZXT Phantom 410 Enthusiast Midi Tower Case

CPU
Intel Core i5 3570K

SSD
Samsung MZ-7PD128

MOTHERBOARD
MSI Z77A-G45

GRAPHICS CARD
This is the part where I'm really struggling. I've just got no idea, and they all seem so expensive! How good of a graphics card do I need? Again, I'm looking to play on max settings and at high FPS but 1080p will be fine for me, but I don't wanna be cheap and regret it when my games look like poop...

I've gotten down to two which I think look okay, first up

MSI GeForce GTX 660 Ti Power Edition
And
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 770 WindForce 3x