Disable internet explorer on remote pc

Status
Not open for further replies.

godwinson

Beta member
Hi all, i am trying to disable ie on a remote computer on my office lan. My colleague can be a lazy *&%$ and I need to stop him looking at the internet all day! (without him realising i'm doing it). Someone I spoke to told me to use mmc so i open mmc\add snap-in\group policy editor then try to navigate to the remote pc I get a message which says access is denied, you may not have appropriate rights. I have created an administrator account on the remote pc so when prompted i put in ipaddress\account name\account password but keep getting this message.
I am a novice at this stuff so go easy but i would be really grateful if anyone could help!
Of course if anyone knows of an easier way to disable ie (and be able to re-enable it!) on the remote pc from my pc then I would love to hear it.
Thanks in advance

Hello,

This wont be able to be done remotely. You will have to go access the PC. Maybe when they are on lunch or before they get into the office.

Cheers,
Mak

Think your best solution would go through your server / router to accomplish this. Use a specific IP for his machine and deny access to the web during that time through your router / switch / server.

remove it in the add remove window components. or disable access to it in the set program default section. it hides it then

Disabling IE will just instigate the installing of Firefox or whatever. I like the idea of firewalling that PC at the distribution point better.

Disabling IE will just instigate the installing of Firefox or whatever. I like the idea of firewalling that PC at the distribution point better.

how can you instigate what your can't find. you need to find the net to install firefox. this will work on a basic computer user. on an expert it won't

how can you instigate what your can't find. you need to find the net to install firefox. this will work on a basic computer user. on an expert it won't