Building a LAN Center

Status
Not open for further replies.

mikesgroovin

HONK if you route packets
This is actually the 2nd question that i've asked on this website....amazing!

I'm involved in building a LAN center in a local area around town. My question is really simple. I need to drive popular games into about 10 computers. Can someone give me a "top 10 list" of games that are out there? No need to put them in order....I'll figure that out. I just need to know what people are playing these days so that I can figure cost.

::Thanks

Here's some good stuff off the top of my head that'd be good LAN material:

• - Counter-Strike / Counter-Strike: Source (preferrably Source)
    - UT2004
    - Battlefield 2
    - Call of Duty 2
    - Quake 3 Arena
    - Quake 4

And possibly some RTS games. I'm not too experienced with them, but Warcraft III + expansion may be a good choice.

Dawn of war is a good RTS for net play... not sure how popular it is thouh :-/

You might want to check out gamespy or something like that and see what server populations are like.

other than that:

UT04
BF2
CSS

Personal favourites.

Great, thanks for the suggestions. I had these in mind:

BF2
UT2004
CS (Didn't know about the Source version though)
Quake 3/4

Call of Duty is pretty popular, eh?

Thanks again for the suggestions.

Of course CS is the #1 choice. It's real noob friendly and really popular, so most people have played it. UT2004 definetly isn't a beginner's game, but can have some great results if everyone knows how to play. Make sure you start with CS cause about everyone plays / has played CS, then move on to some of the other games like Quake, UT, BF2, CoD2, etc.