Start Menu Sidebar - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-26-2004, 01:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 79
Default Start Menu Sidebar



is there a way to get rid of that "Windows XP Home Edition" sidebar thing?
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon XP 3000+/333 FSB 512K Barton @ 2.16GHz
Gigabyte GA-7N400-L nForce2 Ultra400 Dual Channel DDR
Geil 512MB PC-3200 (400MHz) DDR
Maxtor 80GB ATA133 7200RPM 8MB Cache
Sapphire Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB DDR
Lite-On 16x DVD-ROM (48x CD-ROM) Drive
Lite-On 52x32x52 CD-RW Drive
Windows XP Home
Seagate 120GB ATA133 7200RPM 8MB Cache
ACIDDROPPER is offline  
Old 05-26-2004, 01:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 79
Default

http://www.freewebs.com/acidxdropper...enusidebar.htm

picture
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon XP 3000+/333 FSB 512K Barton @ 2.16GHz
Gigabyte GA-7N400-L nForce2 Ultra400 Dual Channel DDR
Geil 512MB PC-3200 (400MHz) DDR
Maxtor 80GB ATA133 7200RPM 8MB Cache
Sapphire Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB DDR
Lite-On 16x DVD-ROM (48x CD-ROM) Drive
Lite-On 52x32x52 CD-RW Drive
Windows XP Home
Seagate 120GB ATA133 7200RPM 8MB Cache
ACIDDROPPER is offline  
Old 05-26-2004, 03:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

hmmm I'm not seeing any bar like that on the pro version. Have you tried playing with the settings on the taskbar properties? Try switching it to classic and see if it goes away. Also if you go into the customize settings for the start menu perhaps there may be something in there that will turn it off?
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 05-26-2004, 03:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 415
Default

ditto, i have pro now and used to have home xp and never had it on either, strange
__________________
Fear is nothing but the anticipation of pain, be it physical, mental, spiritual or emotional.
specs.
Athlon XP 2200+ oc\'ed @ 1.93ghz
MSI ms-6738
768mb ddr2100
Nvidia mx420 :(
60gig maxtor 7200rpm
Dual boot with Mandrake 10.0 and Win XP Pro sp2
neversleeps is offline  
Old 05-26-2004, 03:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 617
Default

right click on the start button

click properties

put it on start menu

instead of classic start menu
__________________
AdAware | Spybot S&D 1.4 | spyware guard & spyware blaster |

How did I get infected in the first place By Tony Klein

If you use IE I suggest using thes two programs IE Hosts & IE-SPYAD


Lobos is offline  
Old 05-31-2004, 05:31 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 23
Send a message via Yahoo to blackcomb
Default

classic start menu/customize check the show small icons in start menu, and no side bar!
__________________

blackcomb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.