My HP computer is SLOW - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-06-2004, 01:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Missouri
Posts: 293
Send a message via AIM to dykzeulb Send a message via MSN to dykzeulb Send a message via Yahoo to dykzeulb
Default My HP computer is SLOW

I just recently got a cheap (400.00) HP computer from WAL-MART that has Windows Xp home edition on it and I have a few songs and have kazzaa and have a cable mdem on it which is connected all day.....This computer should be faster right? It takes 4-ever to load stuff and I think there maybe some spyware or something on it....some help
__________________

dykzeulb is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 01:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

Hey,
Get copies of spybot search & Deystroy and Adaware from http://pcworld.com/downloads/collect...id,1247,00.asp
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 01:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

Make sure and download the newest updates before running the scan. Be prepared to run into some issues with Kazaa.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 05:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Missouri
Posts: 293
Send a message via AIM to dykzeulb Send a message via MSN to dykzeulb Send a message via Yahoo to dykzeulb
Default

been there done that....Will try pcworld link though
__________________

~Hit me up on *AIM*drexoyl-*Yahoo*dykzeulb-*MSN*brett_dykzeul Instant Messengers~MidwestCustomz.Net
dykzeulb is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 06:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 9
Default

adaware is your best bet...also look for 180search stuff which is eally bad spyware...and web ebates
onsitetech is offline  
Old 07-07-2004, 12:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Missouri
Posts: 293
Send a message via AIM to dykzeulb Send a message via MSN to dykzeulb Send a message via Yahoo to dykzeulb
Default

Hmmm.......I do beleive I have 180.........I will have to look
__________________

~Hit me up on *AIM*drexoyl-*Yahoo*dykzeulb-*MSN*brett_dykzeul Instant Messengers~MidwestCustomz.Net
dykzeulb is offline  
Old 07-07-2004, 07:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 48
Default

if you must use a P2P program, stray away from Kazaa. that thing causes all kinds of havoc on a computer. it's a terrible program and i've seen it do some damage on quite a few computers as far as the computer running efficiently! if i were you, definitely check for viruses/spyware and get rid of Kazaa.
__________________
\"Countless, unseen details are often the only difference between mediocre and magnificent.\"
blacktop89 is offline  
Old 07-07-2004, 07:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

Ya know i gotta admit whenever i read threads like this, it's sort of funny to see how people (who might know a little or a lot about computers) jump the gun and just automatically ASSUME the PC is bogged with spyware wihtout even first asking the basic diagnostic questions.

<rant>
Before jumping to conclusions and suggesting spyware removal tools, how about asking some basic questions? like how much RAM is installed..... is the HDD defragged on a regular basis.... how about running msconfig and seeing which applications are trigged to load up on boot up (thus tying up resources)... etc, etc.

People, do a little homework on PCs first before just blurting out answers that provide little value for users needing assistance. Before i became knowledgeable about PCs, i used to keep my mouth shut on forums whenever i didn't have an exact answer. I was a noob and the only way I could learn was by reading books, forums, and journals. Hell i'm still a n00b when compared to some of the Mods here... but if i feel that i'm not knowledgable about a certain topic, i'll sit back and read and try to actually learn something new rather than blurting out some crap that might have no relevance to the question asked.

Yeah i know i'ts a free country and you can post whatever you want. I'm just saying dont' just throw sh*t up in the air and hope it sticks. There's a certain protocol to follow.
</rant>
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 07-07-2004, 07:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lone Wolf
Ya know i gotta admit whenever i read threads like this, it's sort of funny to see how people (who might know a little or a lot about computers) jump the gun and just automatically ASSUME the PC is bogged with spyware wihtout even first asking the basic diagnostic questions.

<rant>
Before jumping to conclusions and suggesting spyware removal tools, how about asking some basic questions? like how much RAM is installed..... is the HDD defragged on a regular basis.... how about running msconfig and seeing which applications are trigged to load up on boot up (thus tying up resources)... etc, etc.

People, do a little homework on PCs first before just blurting out answers that provide little value for users needing assistance. Before i became knowledgeable about PCs, i used to keep my mouth shut on forums whenever i didn't have an exact answer. I was a noob and the only way I could learn was by reading books, forums, and journals. Hell i'm still a n00b when compared to some of the Mods here... but if i feel that i'm not knowledgable about a certain topic, i'll sit back and read and try to actually learn something new rather than blurting out some crap that might have no relevance to the question asked.

Yeah i know i'ts a free country and you can post whatever you want. I'm just saying dont' just throw sh*t up in the air and hope it sticks. There's a certain protocol to follow.
</rant>
True statement. People souldn't just assume this is a spyware problem just because the PC runs slow. I wouldn't rule spyware out, but I just wouldn't jump to that conclusion. Dykzeilb, what did you expect to get from HP for only $400 anyway? I have had experience with HP and even mid-range ones are worlds slower than comparable home-built ones. For instance, my $1000 HP with an Athlon 2600+ came with PC2100 memory and its hard drive was only 5400RPM with a 2MB buffer, which slows things down tremendouly. Plus, all the ads and promotions that HP preloads just eat up system resources. If I were you, I would return that HP PC and build my own. You could build something that is sooooo much better for only $500.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 07-07-2004, 09:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 471
Default

umm, here are your 2 problems:

1)HP
2)Walmart


j/k
__________________

subdivizion is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.