Keeping popup windows open? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-21-2006, 02:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 53
Default Keeping popup windows open?

Lots of times when I am working on downloading applications which have popup windows I constantly have to keep minimizing and maximizing the small popup windows, is there a way to have multiple windows up on the screen at the same time?
__________________

mikehende is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 02:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Anyone have any idea what he's talking about?
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 02:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 53
Default

He's talking about those popup windows [when installing or upgrading softwares mainly] which prompt you to close it before you can get back to any of the other windows on your screen. If you attempt to click on another part of your screen you hear the beep and have to close that small window before you can get back to anything else, is there a way to keep these types of popup windows which usually don't have a minimize button open? Hope this explains things better.
mikehende is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 04:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

You mean switch between different windows with alt tab?
Law is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 04:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 53
Default

Let me see if I can find an actual example, when I am posting for help here on this forum when fixing a pc and I come across a prompt with an error message, these prompts usually don't have a minimize button so I have to get a paper and pen, write down what the error message is then close the prompt window in order to get back to the post I am trying to write, what I am asking is if there is a way to keep these types of small popup windows open so I can switch between whatever windows I may have on the screen without having to close the error message or popup window so as in the example above, this will prevent me from having to write down the message with a paper and pen?
mikehende is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 04:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Ok now I get you, but have you try Alt Tab to see if you can switch between windows? There's probably a registry hack for this, but I am not sure where to begin to look.
Law is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 05:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 53
Default

Next time I come across that situation I will using the Alt tab as you've suggested and get back to you, thanks.
mikehende is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 11:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mikehende
these prompts usually don't have a minimize button so I have to get a paper and pen, write down what the error message is....
First off, don't waste your time writing the messages down. Just hit alt+PrtScn, which will copy a screenshot of the message to the clipboard, then paste it into Paint or some other location.

Second, it is probably not possible to change the behavior of the alerts in Windows. By design of the function, they don't have a minimizing feature. They can only be active (in focus) or inactive (no focus/behind an active screen). When they pop up, you've either got to let them continue existing, or close them.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 11:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Windows version of Expose’
http://www.entbloess.com
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 05:35 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 53
Default

Thanks for the link Eric B, have written to them to find out if it can do exactly what I want, will post back here when they answer.
__________________

mikehende is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.