help help heeeeeeeeellllllllllpppppp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-13-2006, 07:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 63
Angry help help heeeeeeeeellllllllllpppppp

i have a pc with 98 on it and have just bought a new hd and am putting xp on it as i don't have the disk for 98 right i have got my config setup now on NFTS and that is ok but i can't acess gui mode to complete the setup so how do i get it to acess gui mode i have tried all sorts of things and it still won't work i have got some info off the net about the instaltion of the xp but that is saying about take out the booter disk and then enter the disk when need but that won't help so how do i get to gui mode
__________________

__________________
windows xp home edtion sp2
250gb hard drive
1024 mb of ram
intel pent 4 3.06 1mb chache
geforce 6600le graphics card
sales1 is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 08:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

have you started the install already, or have you only formatted so far?
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 08:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

Have you ever heard of grammer? That was **** trying to understand that.
__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 09:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Do you use onboard Vidoe or have you installed a video card? Make sure the monitor is hooked up to the right output.

Also since you said this system was with 98 are you sure it meets all teh requirements for XP to run. That could be why you are running into problems. If you dont have dedicated video and share you RAM with your video you could have a problem. Since XP needs a minimum of 64MB RAM to install if that is all you have in there and you share it the system wont be able to install XP.

IT is also recommended that you use at least 256MB RAM if not 512MB RAM for optimal performance. With anything less it will run like a slug.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 10:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Quote:
intel celron 333mhz
thats gonna be a LARGE Problem there. Even a pentium 2 with 333 mhz would struggle with XP, and celerons have 32 kb cache.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 11:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 63
Default

i have only formatted so far that is why i ask why it won't work. The computer meets all the specs posted by microsoft and i have a built in video card is that a porblem but i have a brand new graphics card will that help
__________________
windows xp home edtion sp2
250gb hard drive
1024 mb of ram
intel pent 4 3.06 1mb chache
geforce 6600le graphics card
sales1 is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 12:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

It could just be that the onboard video cant do the graphics. I would suggest trying to install the Video Card and seeing if it does anything to further the progress.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 05:16 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 63
Default

thaks i will try that then
__________________

__________________
windows xp home edtion sp2
250gb hard drive
1024 mb of ram
intel pent 4 3.06 1mb chache
geforce 6600le graphics card
sales1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.