cant go online after spyware scan - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-03-2005, 12:59 PM   #11 (permalink)
Field Engineer
SHAWN's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN

You might need a winsock fix.

A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 03-03-2005, 01:00 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 261
Send a message via AIM to bigstanklo

How are you online now then? LOL

bigstanklo is offline  
Old 03-03-2005, 03:14 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 151

this is another computer -_- on the same network though. What is winsock and what about winsock? is any1 had any idea what's wrong by looking at those symptoms?
gohand is offline  
Old 03-03-2005, 04:34 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Osiris's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris

Osiris is offline  
Old 03-04-2005, 06:06 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 151

can anyone tell me step-by step, cause it is confusing, it seemed that it is a patch for windows nt, or some sort of network permission utility, and there are many different kind of software i found that is named winsock, do i have to download it or it is inside windows? (mypc is using win2k3, so it might not be compatible)
gohand is offline  
Old 03-05-2005, 06:21 PM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher

Have you tried a system restore point prior to installing the spyware removal software?
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 03-05-2005, 10:25 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 151

there isn't an install point, but it really seemed a complicated problem, i think a system restore should help, but i disabled it, so i tried to fix it myself, i tried first to uninstall the whole thing and restart completely and set it back, nothing changed, so i view event log, it seemed many serice related to networks had failed to start, and one is the ipec services, it said i should disabled it restart it, but when i tried, there was an error, saying it was impossible to fail but it fail. and there are many other services rely on it, i wouldn't know which to start with.

gohand is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.