Cannot Boot XP! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-09-2007, 03:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Unhappy Cannot Boot XP!

Whenever i start the computer up i have two options.. Windows Vista and Windows XP..

Now when i select vista it works fine, but when i try to boot XP it shows me 4 or 5 options:
----------------------------------------------
Safemode
Safemode w/ command promt
Safemode (w/something else)

Last known configuration that works
Start Windows Normally
------------------------------------------------

None of these options work, whenever i go into safe mode it wont work and whenever i select "start windows normaly" or "last known configuration" i get a loading bar and it gets stuck on the last bar and will stay that way

Like i said i can boot Vista Ultimate fine.. but xp wont boot.

Is their anything i can do?
__________________

alexsabree is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 03:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

run a repair on xp
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 05:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

how do i do that?
alexsabree is offline  
Old 02-10-2007, 01:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

dood i dont mean to come off the wrong way and im not in anyway flaming you. but come on. you made a post preaching about a video card and how you know everything and people should listen to you but you cant even run a repair on xp.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 02-10-2007, 07:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Post count means nothing. You're looking at a guy who's never actually built his own PC... ME!

http://www.windowsreinstall.com/winx...exfullpage.htm
talldude123 is offline  
Old 02-10-2007, 11:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

dude... i have never used repair thats all.. i don't know much about the operating system. I mean come on give me a break, OS's aren't what i know best.

Ill try see if repairing it helps.. Thanks talldude123

(edit) i understand what your saying, that topic i started was stupid.. and I'm really ashamed for what i started.
alexsabree is offline  
Old 02-12-2007, 12:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to Liquidtricity
Default

I'm just trying to reach some clarification at this point because I know the answer is probably obvious but none the less. What version of Windows do you have installed on the machine at this time? If both and using a duel boot thing then this is out of my league. If not and you installed vista recently then xp might not even exist on the system anymore. Once again just asking for clarification.
__________________

Liquidtricity is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.