Boot Disc/Install Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-15-2006, 11:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Default Boot Disc/Install Help

Hey, I just got a really old computer with no OS or anything on it. When I start it up it checks the CDROM, Floppy, and IDE-0 drives for a boot disc record. It says "OK" for IDE-0, but also says that it's missing the OS. I usually just use a floppy disc with MS-DOS on it along with other old games to play, but I just found an old Windows 95 CD.

Now, to the point:

How can I install Windows 95? Is there a MS-DOS code I can type to run the CD drive? I've tried a boot disc but nothing really happened, but one time I got something about Windows ME which I do not own, so I figured that's what used to be on it.

Please help!
__________________

thecrowing86 is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 11:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

to install windows 95, put the CD into the CD-ROM drive. Go into the setup BEFORE windows boots up, and select to boot up from CD-ROM. Format your Hard drive, and follow the on-screen directions.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 11:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Yeah but it doesn't even read the CD. It just says boot record not found, then skips to my floppy drive where I usually have DOS in. Do I need a Win95 boot disc?
thecrowing86 is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 11:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

well, chances are, your 95 boot disk is not a legal copy.

I have many OS cd's that dont have a boot record on them.

get a floppy disk ready, and download this file:
http://anbcomp.com/files/bootdisk/boot95a.exe
talldude123 is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 11:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

download that file, and boot from the floppy. Everything else should work fine now.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 11:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Ok, I booted and it said "Starting Windows 95" and then it went through some coding and stuff, but now it's back at MS-DOS coding. Should I be typing a code to make Windows actually start working?
thecrowing86 is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 11:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

if it says "C:\"

then type: D:
that changes it to the cd-rom drive

then type "setup"
talldude123 is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 11:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Uhh, for some reason D is invalid, but for some reason I can get to R:\. There I typed "setup" but it says it can't install a temporary directory.
thecrowing86 is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 11:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

try E drive. That may be the CD-ROM drive.

is the cd-rom wired into the computer correctly?
talldude123 is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 11:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Default

I'm not sure but it opens and closes just fine. I'll go check.
__________________

thecrowing86 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.