AOL Optimized PC - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-26-2005, 10:43 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

once you get it FORMAT
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 09-26-2005, 10:45 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

ya my friend asked me to help him fix his aol pc i dont think so.all he uses it 4 is aim nothing else.
__________________

__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 02:13 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 84
Default

aol is teamming up with roadrunner and postie that microsoft is going to buy aol that is what im hearing right now
MidwestComputer is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 03:10 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

I pay $14.95 a month for SBC 1.5Mbps DSL. And AOL charges $23.00 for dialup, and if you want broadband they try and whack you for another $15.00 on top of that!!!

But you're right, people just don't know any different.
__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 05:53 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

AOL is to you what Telstra is to us.

Telstra used to be Public Company but they are going to Privatise it.

They are the main company that offers phone and internet services. So many people sign up to Telstra because its a name they know, but they are getting ripped off.

My parents signed up for it 12 months ago in a contract not knowing what a rip off they are, but im thankful for having ADSL at all.

Im on a 256/64k ADSL package. I can download 10gb before being slowed to 64k. This costs me $60 AUD.

Once the plan is finished, i have to call up Telstra on a certain day to fix up the switching.

I am switching to a TPG plan thats 1500/256k, 20gb of Downloads for $40.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 07:12 PM   #16 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

What's worse is I know people who switched back to AOL because "someone deleted our Internet Explorer, and we had to switch back to AOL to get it back" .

Remind me never to put Firefox on a friend's PC ever again...
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 08:33 PM   #17 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

Quote:
What's worse is I know people who switched back to AOL because "someone deleted our Internet Explorer, and we had to switch back to AOL to get it back" .
I wont laugh, i will just feel remorse.....
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 09:56 PM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

Lol they are sayin that it is a high preformance pc and it only was 256mb ram and its a slow celeron 2.5ghz
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 10:03 PM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

but people dont know that.

"ooooh, it loads Windows faster than my Pentium 2 350mhz, it must be high performance"
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 10:29 PM   #20 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

a lot of people get confused when you don't have to sign in to get the internet with broadband, so they think that it doesn't work and they go back to AOL dial up
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.