ram upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-03-2010, 02:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 122
Default ram upgrade

hey,i was looking at getting a new desktop,but i'm afraid i'll have to wait a bit,and get more use out of my laptop before i can justify getting an entirely new rig,but what i was wondering if in the mean time if upgraded my ram,would it make a big difference?
right now my lappy(in my spec)is really starting to slow down(mostly from older files and what not that i'll need in the future) .

so i was wondering,if i were to upgrade the ram to this:

Newegg.ca - Patriot 4GB (2 x 2GB) 204-Pin DDR3 SO-DIMM DDR3 1066 (PC3 8500) Dual Channel Kit Laptop Memory Model PSD34G1066SK - Laptop Memory

if i would notice a big difference.

also is there any set up required for upgrading ram or is it just plug and play?

and also on a side note,whats the main difference in DDR2 and DDR3??i really don't know much about parts like these.


ty
__________________

__________________
acer 5920
intel duo 2.0 ghz
nividia 8600m gs
3 gb ddr2
250 hdd
and a built in subwoofer(for those lonely nights:eek: lmao)
erkster is offline  
Old 03-03-2010, 02:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: ram upgrade

no, you won't notice a big difference
DDR2 and DDR3 is not interchangeable
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 03-03-2010, 02:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 122
Default Re: ram upgrade

so if i were to upgrade,i'd have to find DDR2?
__________________
acer 5920
intel duo 2.0 ghz
nividia 8600m gs
3 gb ddr2
250 hdd
and a built in subwoofer(for those lonely nights:eek: lmao)
erkster is offline  
Old 03-03-2010, 02:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: ram upgrade

yes, but even if you upgraded RAM, I seriously doubt you are going to feel any change

I don't know exactly what you think your laptop is lacking (gaming?)
but a SSD would be a wonderful upgrade, and you can use a SSD in your new computer down the road also
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 03-03-2010, 03:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 122
Default Re: ram upgrade

trying to optimize it for WoW,how much would a SSD(solid state drive correct??) help with playing WoW??compared to other upgrads?

and are you talking like a USB SDD,or one thats actually installed?
tyvm
__________________
acer 5920
intel duo 2.0 ghz
nividia 8600m gs
3 gb ddr2
250 hdd
and a built in subwoofer(for those lonely nights:eek: lmao)
erkster is offline  
Old 03-03-2010, 03:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: ram upgrade

for gaming, the video card is the most important component.
so, a Solid State Drive would not help at all
since you have a laptop, it's way harder to replace the video card
you're pretty much stuck with what you have now
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 03-03-2010, 03:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dirkpitt45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 755
Default Re: ram upgrade

SSD's just improve load times pretty much. Amazing when you run your OS off of one, big improvements.

As for games though I don't think there'd be a difference other then load times.

EDIT: Ninja'd
__________________
dirkpitt45 is offline  
Old 03-03-2010, 03:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 122
Default Re: ram upgrade

ok thank you both very much
__________________
acer 5920
intel duo 2.0 ghz
nividia 8600m gs
3 gb ddr2
250 hdd
and a built in subwoofer(for those lonely nights:eek: lmao)
erkster is offline  
Old 03-03-2010, 08:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 612
Default Re: ram upgrade

What laptop model do you have?
It's hard to replace the video card, but not impossible.

With some laptop models, (Namely Thinkpads) you can buy a new system board with a better GPU and swap it out.
__________________

__________________
__________________________________________________ ____________________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ram upgrade question Beefdawg System Upgrades 1 11-14-2009 06:45 PM
Ram upgrade Hampton New Systems | Building and Buying 10 02-28-2009 08:09 AM
New RAM upgrade acting up shaf3y Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 02-24-2009 06:32 PM
Problem Posting After Ram Upgrade skylinegtrv98 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 10-28-2008 02:53 PM
Ram upgrade worth it in this machine? stainer711 System Upgrades 5 04-25-2008 01:59 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.