What is HT supposed to be - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-04-2005, 05:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 114
Default What is HT supposed to be

what is hyper threading technology supposed to mean? whats the difference btwn a 2.4 ghz with ht and 2.4 ghz without one?
apart from the cost of course, one of the questions that have bitten my head off since i got me an upgrade!
__________________

i_learn is offline  
Old 11-04-2005, 08:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 274
Send a message via ICQ to smartech
Default

Hyper threading is kinda technology that allows the CPU to process 2 threads simultaneously, making it work like you have 2 single thread ("regular") CPUs.

I don't know in which aspects it will improve the performance, scinse I don't have one, but anyway.
__________________

__________________
smartech is offline  
Old 11-04-2005, 07:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Yeah, hyperthreading basically tricks software into thinking your CPU can accept two threads...basically "simulates" the same effect you'd get from multicore processors to a much lesser extent

It's one of the big reasons Intel has made a name is encoding/rendering applications...the irony is when games are written with multiple threads, AMD single cores which have traditionally run much faster in games will actually fall behind Intel processors equipped with hyperthreading
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 11-04-2005, 08:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default

hmm so my intel P4 3.0ht is better than an amd 2.8 in gaming?
__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 11-04-2005, 10:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

If the game is multithreaded then yes...no such game exists at this point and time though
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 11-05-2005, 12:13 AM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

And when they finally do exist, there will be AMD's dual core CPUs...
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-05-2005, 01:03 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Hyperthreading tricks the comptuer into thinking there's actually 2 CPU's.
currently games don't support multiple CPUs/CPU cores, so AMD wins with their single core CPU's in gaming.
although, like Trotter said, the AMD dual core CPU's are out for when games do support multi threading
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-05-2005, 01:51 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 114
Default

you mean to say that altho games dont support it yet........other applications do? and whats the core all about?
i_learn is offline  
Old 11-05-2005, 02:46 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the core is the part of the CPU that does stuff. some CPU's like the Athlon 64 X2's and Pentium D's have 2 cores per CPU, which means basically 2 CPU's in 1

and yes, there are apps that support multiple cores, but games are not among them yet
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-05-2005, 06:49 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 274
Send a message via ICQ to smartech
Default

But, as I heard it still helps, since while you run multiple aplications at a time, it maps them to the different cores (or virtualy, talking HT) making the whole thing run faster. So since everyone of us usualy run many programs at a time, HT is useful, isn't it?
__________________

__________________
smartech is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.