What Is Dual Channel*sorry* - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-14-2005, 10:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 103
Question What Is Dual Channel*sorry*

What is dual channel for ram...I see topics about Mobos and if they support dual channel...

procagefighter is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 10:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010

Ram is not dual channel, the motherboards are.

You basically need two sticks of ram, put them in the appropiate slot, and if your motherboard supports it, it will be in dual channel. The 2 sticks work together and gives you double the bandwidth e.g. for PC3200 it would be 6.4gb/s bandwidth over 3.2gb's worth of bandwidth in single channel. If put on a AMD board, it gives a nice boost in performance due to the memory controller on the CPU. Intels don't get as much, but it is still a nice boost for the price of getting 2 sticks over one, which can be cheaper.

It won't give you twice as much performance, less than 50, less than 25% if you find a bench test somewhere it will tell you the exact increase.


Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 10:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 474

I hope this site will help you.
nuke is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 11:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
SHAWN's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN

Nubius, where are you?
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 11:11 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790

The 2 sticks work together and gives you double the bandwidth e.g. for PC3200 it would be 6.4gb/s bandwidth over 3.2gb's worth of bandwidth in single channel.
Nononononono, dual channel configurations do not double memory bandwidth. The only time you'll find 6.4gb/sec bandwidth from DDR is from AMD64s and that is because of the LDT bus resulting from the intergrated memory controller. Dual channel has a slight benefit on latency and bandwidth, but we're talking 1-5% tops.
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.