Video Drivers - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-01-2005, 04:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 17
Default Video Drivers

Ok when im playing cs:s everything is fine for like 5 mins, then suddenly my fps drops to like 2-15 fps.

It then varies from very low fps, then back to normal.

I think this is because my video drivers are out of date (i get the message saying that everytime i load source), but i dont know how to update...

My graphics card currently is :

Nvidia geforce FX Go5200

i go to this page; http://www.nvidia.com/content/drivers/drivers.asp

but i do not know which one to download.

Ive tried a few, but when i try to install it never works!

Please help!
__________________

flaime is offline  
Old 07-01-2005, 04:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Assuming you have xp/2000 http://www.nvidia.com/object/winxp_2k_77.72.html

There is a special way of having to instal that one, as there are a couple of bugs: http://techist.com/showthread.php?s=...5&pagenumber=1

Btw. It isn't a grat card the 5200, so don't expect miracles of high(ish) settings, low would be better.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 07-01-2005, 04:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

5200 will run source fine
http://www.nvidia.com/object/winxp_2k_77.72.html

Try different maps and servers, i had that problem in inferno
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-04-2005, 08:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 17
Default

ok i tryed installing the diriver, it didnt work.

Eventually i had to place the installer in my c:/dell/drivers and got the drivers installed. Im still laggin. mY spec im using is a 1.7 ghz processor, the fx 5200, 512 ram...

Could it not be the drivers, but the fact my computer isnt good enough to keep up playin source..?

It always used to play fine, so you guys got any ideas?

ive used spy bot and nothin found...
flaime is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.