Thermal Compound - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-14-2004, 01:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 592
Default Thermal Compound

I just picked up a tube of Artic Silver 5 Thermal Compound, do I want to cover the entire top of the CPU (AMD 64 3200+) in the stuff?
__________________

__________________
ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Intel Core i7 2600k
16GB DDR3 G-Skill Ripjaws
1TB 7200 Segagte Drive
eVGA GeForce 570
Samsung Blu-Ray Drive
Antec 850 Watt PSU
Windows 7 Professional
Blackmoore is offline  
Old 09-14-2004, 01:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 321
Default

don't use all of the tube 2 cover the entire top. just d size of a cooked rice grain would do. spread it out reaally thinly with a card or sumthin. the paste would have d opposite effect if u put 2 much.
__________________

__________________
|New|Gaming|System|2|Be|:

AMD 64 bit 3500+ Socket 939
MSI K8N Neo 2 Plat. Socket 939 mobo
Corsair TWINX1024-3200 RAM
Nvidia GeForce 6800 GT Graphic Card
Altec Lansing 5051 Speaker system
Creative Sound Blaster live 7.1
Maxtor SATA 200Gb HDD
Plextor PX-712A DVD¬ĪR/RW Drive
Wired Mouse/Keyboard by Logitech
Samsung 795MB Flat Screen CRT
Raidmax Scorpio 868W Casing
Antec Truepower 430 or 480
Thermaltake (Pipe101) Heatsink
Thermaltake Street Fighter Fan
derfist is offline  
Old 09-14-2004, 06:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

go to www.arcticsilver.com and depending on what kind of silver you got (in this case 5) and the kind of CPU you got..it'll give you proper instructions for spreading it on. You don't want it to get onto connectors because it is semi-conductive..and will short out your mobo and/or CPU
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-15-2004, 05:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 389
Default

do i realy need compound i get 19c at idle and 31c when i play games with two case fans.

P.s its a stock heat sink fan
__________________
DAVID_15 is offline  
Old 09-15-2004, 06:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

well intels run cooler than AMD's as it is, but 19 idle is pretty good....can definitely tell its stock cooling cause your temps go up quite a bit on load.....


Quote:
do i realy need compound i get 19c at idle and 31c when i play games with two case fans.
for the record...you already HAVE compound dude...what do you think is between your heatsink and CPU core? If it doesn't have compound it has whats called a thermal pad....if you took off the thermal pad or existing grease you got on there now and replaced it with arctic silver 5 you'd get lower temps but only by like 2 or 3 degrees...not worth it in your case
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-15-2004, 06:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 389
Default

i have nothing between my cpu no paste no thermal pad nothing.
__________________
DAVID_15 is offline  
Old 09-15-2004, 09:17 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

Quote:
do i realy need compound i get 19c at idle and 31c when i play games with two case fans.
Holy Cow!!!! 31C when playing games?!?!! Mines like 45C idle, and 52-59C when I play games! Whan do you have for fans?!?
Regulus is offline  
Old 09-15-2004, 10:06 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 389
Default

its just the stock heatsinkfan from intel here i have a screen shot

__________________
DAVID_15 is offline  
Old 09-15-2004, 01:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

Whats up with mine then? It's stock as well. What core you got david?
Regulus is offline  
Old 09-15-2004, 06:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
i have nothing between my cpu no paste no thermal pad nothing.
So you removed your heatsink and checked? Because thats BS...there isn't a heatsink out there that is put ontop of a CPU that doesn't have either a thermal pad or compound...I think you got your stuff confused here david. You won't ever find a heatsink without something between the heatsink and core...that is just absurd..
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.