sata or pata? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-16-2005, 09:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 31
Default sata or pata?

I have heard that it is rather hard to install windows xp to a sata harddrive. Is that true? What do I need to do to be able to install windows xp on a sata harddrive easily? Am I better off with a pata harddrive?

Thank you,
angrykid
__________________

angrykid is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 09:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

sata > pata

you are referring to raid as being hard to install

but it's not, whoever said that probably doesn't know anything about computers/installing raid
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 09:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 31
Default

Thank you but I am not referring to raid. I heard that windows xp does not fully support sata harddrives. Would I have to do anything else to install windows xp on a sata harddrive?

Also, does the DFI Lanparty UT nf4 Utra-D support normal sata 150? I read in the specs for it on Newegg that it supports sata2 300, but it did not say that it supported sata 150.

thank you,
angrykid
angrykid is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 11:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

THat's ok...SATA2 is backwards compatible with SATA1. So all your SATA1 drives will work on your SATA2 ports. YOu don't need worry. And installing Windows XP on a SATA drive is just as easy as on a PATA drive.
__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 11:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

I didn't know they were backware compatible...
Usually there are spots for SATA I and for SATA II.

No there aren't any problems with windows with SATA. All those rumors you hear are false. Definitely go SATA over PATA anyday.

An SATA drive installs just like a PATA. If you want to set up a RAID with SATA all you have to do is insert a floppy with the drivers during the setup of windows. Not rocket science.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 10:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 31
Default

Thank you. Also, one more thing. Is there really a performance increase with the DFI versus the ASUS a8n-e?

thank you,
angrykid
angrykid is offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 11:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default Re: sata or pata?

Quote:
Originally posted by angrykid
I have heard that it is rather hard to install windows xp to a sata harddrive. Is that true? What do I need to do to be able to install windows xp on a sata harddrive easily? Am I better off with a pata harddrive?

Thank you,
angrykid
only thing difference when installing window in SATA hardisk it that u have to install the driver for the SATA controller first b4 u can proceed to window installation
__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 01:05 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by angrykid
Thank you. Also, one more thing. Is there really a performance increase with the DFI versus the ASUS a8n-e?

thank you,
angrykid
I have heard the DFI is a little faster, but mainly better for overclocking. I think at stock speeds they would still be pretty close. I have heard that ASUS isn't reliable but that claim wasn't backed up.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 09:48 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 31
Default

thank you. I am probably not going to overclock, so I will get the ASUS.
angrykid is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 10:59 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

is there any difference in the form factor between SATA and PATA?
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.