Raid? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-21-2004, 11:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Question Raid?

I'm not familiar with RAID, so I have a few questions about it.

Wich HD's are capable of beeing used in a RAID configuration? (E)IDE or SATA or SCSI?

Are there different RAID conectors for IDE and SATA?

Thanks
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 08-21-2004, 02:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

well, most newer motherboards have raid controllers for SATA . . .

i havn't heard or IDE raid . . .

SCSIs are MADE FOR RAID!

so, basically, SATA and SCSI . . . though SATA is more affordable . . . especially 2xRaptor drives
__________________

__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-21-2004, 03:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 159
Default

yeah, 2 P-ATA IDE HD can be use in RAID configuration, either RAID 0 or RAID 1.
__________________
AMD Athlon-C Thunderbird @ 1.2 GHz (FSB 133/266MHz)
MSI K7T Turbo Limited Edition (VIA KT133A Chipset)
Visipro 256 MB PC133 SDRAM
PixelView GeForce 2 MX400 Ultra 64MB SDRAM (Samsung 4.5 ns)
Turtle Beach Santa Cruz Soundcard
Maxtor 40 GB ATA133 7200 RPM
Logitech Z-560 THX Certified Speakers
MSI D16 16X DVD-ROM
MSI CR52 52X32X52X CD-R/CD-RW
Samsung 753DF 17\" Flat CRT Monitor
Windows XP Pro SP1
WeHa is offline  
Old 08-21-2004, 04:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 303
Send a message via ICQ to mdshort Send a message via AIM to mdshort Send a message via Yahoo to mdshort
Default

Raid 0 - Uses two or more identical harddrives simultaniously and splits the data between both channels increasing data read and write speeds. However this raid mode is not recommended for important data because if one of your hard drives fail, there is no way to recover the data. This mode combines hard drive space from both drives into one larger virtual drive.

Raid 1: Uses two or more identical harddrives and sends the same data to both harddrives, (basically a live backup drive), doesn't increase writability but I've heard with tweaking it can speed up readability to Raid 0 speeds. If one drive fails your data is safe on your second harddrive. However your disk space is no larger than one of your drives by itself. This is very useful for those big important company documents and such, and a safe haven for those paranoids.

There are several possible raid configurations, I recommended searching google for those.
__________________
\"With every rise, there is a fall.\"

Need a good cheap host? Click Here
mdshort is offline  
Old 08-21-2004, 05:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 420
Send a message via AIM to silence782
Default

I've got 2 IDEs in a mirror raid. I've also mirror raided 2 sata drives as well. But for the other types of raid, such as raid 5 and the like, you need scsi drives.
__________________
Still weak, I know, but getting better:
CPU: AMD AthlonXP 2500+
1.8GHz @ 333 FSB
512 DDR 2700
160 GB westerndigital hd
Dual booted with XP/Fedora Core 5
PCchips M848A mobo
nVIDIA GeForce MX 4000 video Card
Associate\'s Degree in Applied Computer Sciences.
A+ Certified for Hardware and Operating Systems. Network+ Certified
silence782 is offline  
Old 08-21-2004, 05:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by silence782
I've got 2 IDEs in a mirror raid. I've also mirror raided 2 sata drives as well. But for the other types of raid, such as raid 5 and the like, you need scsi drives.
how did you connect them? do you have 2 controller cards, 1 for IDE and 1 for SATA??
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.