my mouse is skippy - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-13-2005, 04:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Question my mouse is skippy

hello i have some logitech laser mouse but for some reason its actiing skippy or glitchy when i use it with no mouse pad it doesnt do it. wats a mouse pad that should work right with it??
__________________

burned-ati is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 04:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

My optical mouse runs like crap too on a bare desk, but my desk is white. So the laser has a hard time on knowing when it is moving.....
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 04:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

My mouse has a hard time, its being used on a solid color bed sheet, so get something with random colors and patterns
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 04:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 499
Default

Ok, there is a big difference between a laser and an optical mouse. It sounds like yours is an optical, correct? If so, it doesn't like the surface you're currently using and can't take uniform pictures of the landscape... try different surfaces or buy an optical mousepad.
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.democracynow.org\"><img src=\"http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y165/smileygladhands/linkbanner468x60.gif\" border=\"0\"></a>
\"All over the place, from the popular culture to the propaganda system, there is constant pressure to make people feel that they are helpless, that the only role they can have is to ratify decisions and to consume.\" -Noam Chomsky
smileygladhands is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 05:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

no the mouse i have is a laser mouse its got the red laser on the bottom and the laser is clean and every thing it just acts very jumpy when im using a mouse pad with it.....whens its just on my desk with no mouse pad it works fine. so what im saying do i need a different mouse pad? the one i got is some cheap solid black one
burned-ati is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 05:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

laser mice don't need mouse pads, it should work even if you lift it above the desk if I read the hype correctly. They are even supposed to work though glass...just get one that is shiny if you must have one.
__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 05:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

My mouse is a laser one, god i hate them things.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 05:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Try with out a mouse pad, and be inventive trying different things. My mouse works on every surface, including my skin. Mineworks best on dull surfaces.

(How do you know if it is opticle or laser? I didn't buy my mouse, so I don't know anything about it)
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 06:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

should say on the bottom.
__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 06:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

If it was a laser you would have FDA warnings all over it saying "do not look directly into the laser beam"

But I do that anyways......
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.